We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FROG trip to Lexington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A B&B at Riders Rest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A B&B at Riders Rest
225 Alphin Lane, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Lexington B&B and Inns
Fairmont, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FROG trip to Lexington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

12 ladies from various parts of West Virginia and two from North Dakota planned a bicycling trip to Lexington and stayed with Bernie for three nights and four days of cycling. Bernie was a most gracious host and went out of his way to accomodate our large group. The house and cape cod were clean and the food was great. We enjoyed his front porch and lawn. The surrounding area was wonderful for cycling. Judy B

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown, Pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

**I have no affiliation with this B&B or the owner**
I am traveling on a great adventure through the South, with possible relocation to VA. I usually stay at hotels since I am a single female and tend to prefer the amenities they provide. Similar to another reviewer, I too came up wanting as I viewed the hotel options in Lexington, especially since I travel with a golden retriever. So... based on the reviews here, I booked a week at this B&B and I am unequivocally glad that I did. The owner - Bernie - was wonderfully gracious in a nice, low key way - with a definite sense of humor. From the moment I arrived I was treated as a welcome guest. I'd just come from a highly rated hotel Alexandria - where the services were great, but the bed left my back in need of stretching every day. I took a nap the moment I arrived here and was pleasantly surprised to find that my back felt better. The genteel ambience of the grounds was very soothing, to the point where I had to coax my dog into the car every day just to go exploring. All of the breakfasts were wonderful - especially the pancakes and the breakfast casserole. Bernie changes breakfasts each morning - nice touch.
The house is impeccably clean and I appreciated that each room has its own bathroom. I stayed in the Cardinal room which also had a little porch addition - great for reading/using my laptop. If you like architecture, you'll enjoy all of the nice touches throughout the home; if you stay here, ask Bernie if you can look at the other rooms. Bernie was always available for any needs in a very unobtrusive way. I highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: The pictures on the website accurately reflect the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My wife and I had a relaxing stay at Riders Rest. Bernie was gracious and welcoming. The room was special and clean and priced right. We especially liked the atmosphere, the hearth fire, books, and decorative touches everywhere. It was personal. We will definitely rebook the next time we pass that way.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Bernie was a very friendly and welcoming host for us and our Golden Retriever. We never thought we'd find a B&B that was large dog friendly, so we had looked at some of the hotel options in Lexington and frankly found them underwhelming, they all just looked old and run down. Through Trip Advisor I found the link for Rider's Rest, and we enjoyed a very comfortable two day stay there the week before Thanksgiving. We would definitely stay here again.

The house is beautiful and obvious care and attention has gone into designing the guest rooms. We stayed in the Kingfisher Room which was very large and had a super comfortable King size bed and quaint clawfoot tub. The furniture was period authentic with some gorgeous walnut pieces. Loved the linens as well, very luxe feeling.

The house has a pretty yard with a gazebo out front, we enjoyed drinking a glass of wine there while throwing the tennis ball for the dog...we all got to unwind and the scenery is really gorgeous. The house cat even put up with the dog chasing her down through the yard.

Breakfast was fresh and hearty both mornings, we loved the crispy toast. We were especially impressed with Bernie's handling of some guests who had very specific breakfast food needs which you'd think they'd have had the courtesy of mentioning to him before he prepared their food. He was incredibly gracious about the whole situation (more so than I would have been able to be).

We ate dinner at the Southern Inn the first night, loved all of it. Great wine selection and early on a Sunday evening we had the place to ourselves. Service was excellent and we enjoyed all the courses we had. Second night after a full day of touring we just opted for some bar food at The Palms, again enjoyed all of it, another meal with fast and friendly service.

We toured the Stonewall Jackson House, VMI (definitely go for the free cadet-led tour offered middays), Washington & Lee University (so somber to see General Lee's office, it really looks like he just stepped out of it) and walked most of the very quaint downtown area. You can do all of this in one day.

On our way home we visited several of the wineries off of I-81, our favorites were Rockbridge and Barren Ridge. Overall a very relaxing vacation and a great stay at Rider's Rest.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had a great time here. Our host Bernie, was a fantastic cook, funny, flexible, and courteous. The B&B was lovely and welcoming. Spotlessly clean! We have already rebooked for another weekend!

Room Tip: There are rooms suitable for both kids and adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

My family met at the Riders Rest B&B in Lexington, Va., this past weekend for a reunion. We took over the entire B&B, quickly making it our home away from home. Riders Rest combined a comfortable, homey feel with a touch of elegance. Innkeeper Bernie welcomed the children in our party--ages 5, 10, and 11--as well as the adults. We all enjoyed his lovely English accent, wicked sense of humor, and hardy breakfasts (ham-and-egg casserole with homemade toast one morning and egg souffle with hash-brown potatoes and biscuits the next). The bedrooms were lovely and very clean, and the beds were comfortable. Beautiful views of the mountains and the Virginia Horse Center. All this at a reasonable rate and only minutes from downtown Lexington. Loved it! Cassie Price

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

A comfortable B&B, which provides all the amenities. The Blue Jay room is small and the bathroom was not immaculate as there was hair on the floor. The smell of bacon in the morning invaded the whole house and, even worse, our room and our clothes were malodorous the whole day. Having said, Bernie is a very charming man and was very kind to us. I’d give it a 6 out of 10.

Room Tip: Not the Blue Jay room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A B&B at Riders Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at Riders Rest

Address: 225 Alphin Lane, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1920's Guest House is situated in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley with breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge and Allegheny Mountains. We offer four bedrooms all with private bathrooms and A/C. We are within walking distance to the Virginia Horse Center. Two miles from Historic Lexington, The Virginia Military Institute, Washington & Lee University and 10 miles from Blue Ridge Parkway. We offer a full breakfast, BBQ available and Wireless Internet Broadband. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A B&B at Riders Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A B&B at Riders Rest to your Saves list