We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average is about right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Lexington to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Average is about right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a place to stay after a day on the road. The room was on the smaller side, not notable, nor perfectly clean. The complimentary breakfast was crowded with limited choices of anything worth eating. I had an English muffin with the usual watery orange juice. They had an outdoor pool, unused on this rainy day.

Stay, if you need to decent place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    217
    125
    53
    48
See reviews for
305
119
56
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Central PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

First time in area, not sure what to expect. Hampton was $200, Wingate $140 - no thanks.
Furniture is dated but rooms were clean. There's a thing or two, here and there, which needs to be fixed. But, the rooms and hallways were clean, hallways were a/c'd, awesome views from balcony. All staff very friendly. Strong wifi signal, throughout.
I travel, alot. There was nothing here that would keep me from not returning - unless Hampton dropped to $85.
Very nice breakfast bar - with waffles. Nice pool area if travelling with kids. Lexington is 7 minutes down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for 'mountain' side for awesome sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This motel is about 6 miles from downtown Lexington so no walking. OK if you are interested in an interstate night but don't need to see the historic town. The staff was very friendly and the views are quite pleasant.

The room was dated HOJO, lumpy beds and pillows, etc. Each room has a balcony with sliding glass door, cheap locks, and a sticker warning "Please lock balcony door at night". Not my idea of a restful night even in Lexington.

They do a good job with what they have but I will stay at a newer property next time. I do not feel that safe on the outskirts of town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First off, we had a coupon for $50.00 on a Thursday. We traveled from Alabama and it was very late when we arrived. The guy at the desk told my husband that they didn't have any rooms available left at that rate. Being so late and we were so tired we just took the $90.00 room. We were going to wake up at 6am the next morning and drive to our next destination..Well at 5:15am I woke up and felt something on my face. I tried to brush it off, well whatever was on my face, had legs and a hard shell and I had to slap it off of me. It totally freaked me out. There was no way that I could lay back down. I've stayed in many hotels before, however, I have NEVER had a bug crawl on my face. YUCK! I would never stay at the place again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I look for price and cleanliness when I stay somewhere, both of these were on point at this hotel. It is an older complex, but the room was clean and staff was nice. Breakfast wasn't bad either. There are sliding doors to the outside balcony in each room...I wasn't completely happy with that being on the ground floor but the locks all worked fine and it was well lit outside so I didn't let it bother me too much.

Summary: Overall a good nights sleep for a decent price. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't like the idea of the sliding doors on the first floor, just ask for second or third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This older hotel is well of the busy road, so traffic noise in minimal, but the trucks and motorcycles belonging to the guests can be a problem at times. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and able to accommodate most requests. The rooms are large enough, but very out of date, with tired, worn furnishings and bedding. That being said, it was as clean as you can get old carpeting and fixtures. There could have been more places to plug in electronics, but the rooms were designed and furnished before people carried all those things with them when traveling.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.