We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, tired hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Lexington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good staff, tired hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This older hotel is well of the busy road, so traffic noise in minimal, but the trucks and motorcycles belonging to the guests can be a problem at times. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and able to accommodate most requests. The rooms are large enough, but very out of date, with tired, worn furnishings and bedding. That being said, it was as clean as you can get old carpeting and fixtures. There could have been more places to plug in electronics, but the rooms were designed and furnished before people carried all those things with them when traveling.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    181
    100
    49
    40
See reviews for
257
105
47
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We chose this hotel because we could bring our dog. The hotel is feeling its age but it is well cared for. Our room was very large and comfortable. Although it is older, it is clean and the staff was very helpful. We were comfortable having a dog as the hotel is on top of a hill and very rural. The dog had plenty of room to run. The pool was very nice and I had it all to myself. Breakfast wasn't anything special, but nice. The location is very isolated so don't expect to walk to stores or pretty much anything else. It is a great place to stay if you want peace and quiet.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a dog, there is a $13 fee. Be sure to tell them you have a pet so they wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I don't know why everyone was giving such a low rating. The room was extremely clean and quite. There were no offensive odors. I especially loved having a walk-in shower! Ok, so the furniture was not modern, big deal! The breakfast was great! Fresh, hot, make them yourself waffles! Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable and, most of all, very friendly. When I make another trip, back up north, I will DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel in Lexington Virginia. We were there on vacation and it was located near where we wanted to site see.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is one of the worst places I have seen. Should have known when we pulled up and did not see but a few cars. The hotel did not look anything like the photos shown on line. Checked in and was not impressed the smell was awful. we had a room on the 5th floor. The elevator was nasty, We got off the elevator and that floor smelled worse than the other. We asked for non smoking and everything smell of smoke and god only know what. We open the door to the room and it is very musty, and smell of smoke. sign says non-smoking. That is just the beginning
I DO NOT THINK THEY HAVE CLEANING PEOPLE....... Everything is outdated. Stains are on everything.. First thing I checked for was bed bugs, Thankfully non were found.The carpet has not been cleaned, vacuumed. then went to turn on the air since is was about 90 in there and the ac/heater had so much mold, lent, mildew, dust, combo that I touched it and has to run wash my hands, that is when I discovered that the soap in the bathroom had been left in there from before. The microware still had food in it. The sliding doors to what they called a balcony was dirty and the track for of bugs. Thank goodness we had not taken out belonging in with us. I turned around and checked right back out.. There is no way anyone should stay or want to stay at a place like that. On a Positive note the desk clerk was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stopped here on our way to NC. The staff was very polite and our bed was very comfortable. We loved the views from our third floor room. My only complaint is that they didn't offer a crib for our son to use as they mentioned on the phone. They only had pack-and-plays which made for a long and uncomfortable night for our little boy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.