We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Lexington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Lexington
1 review
“review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel in Lexington Virginia. We were there on vacation and it was located near where we wanted to site see.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    176
    96
    48
    39
See reviews for
249
102
46
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is one of the worst places I have seen. Should have known when we pulled up and did not see but a few cars. The hotel did not look anything like the photos shown on line. Checked in and was not impressed the smell was awful. we had a room on the 5th floor. The elevator was nasty, We got off the elevator and that floor smelled worse than the other. We asked for non smoking and everything smell of smoke and god only know what. We open the door to the room and it is very musty, and smell of smoke. sign says non-smoking. That is just the beginning
I DO NOT THINK THEY HAVE CLEANING PEOPLE....... Everything is outdated. Stains are on everything.. First thing I checked for was bed bugs, Thankfully non were found.The carpet has not been cleaned, vacuumed. then went to turn on the air since is was about 90 in there and the ac/heater had so much mold, lent, mildew, dust, combo that I touched it and has to run wash my hands, that is when I discovered that the soap in the bathroom had been left in there from before. The microware still had food in it. The sliding doors to what they called a balcony was dirty and the track for of bugs. Thank goodness we had not taken out belonging in with us. I turned around and checked right back out.. There is no way anyone should stay or want to stay at a place like that. On a Positive note the desk clerk was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stopped here on our way to NC. The staff was very polite and our bed was very comfortable. We loved the views from our third floor room. My only complaint is that they didn't offer a crib for our son to use as they mentioned on the phone. They only had pack-and-plays which made for a long and uncomfortable night for our little boy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great outdoor views, good staff, good simple breakfast.. The place is very quiet. About 10 minutes into Lexington where the lovely Washington & Lee campus is. Quant shops and restaurants abound. Very clean and comfortable beds..

Room Tip: Choose the third floor and up as the view of the Lexington and surrounding areas is superb esp at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
Charming, Budge...
Show More
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 17 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
Free Parking, B...
Show More
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.