We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Lexington to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Decent place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Nice place for a weary traveler to rest their head. Cheap....clean and friendly. Pet friendly too. Stopped here on my way to North Carolina. Free continental breakfast and USA today news paper. Lots of motels on this strip of why. This one looked better than most. Fine place for one night stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    205
    110
    51
    46
See reviews for
282
112
55
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We travel for Agility Trials which means traveling with dogs. This is the nicest motel. Very dog friendly. Large rooms w/ fridge - comfortable beds. Nice hot breakfast. Staff outstanding & friendly - very accommodating. Let us checking early

Room Tip: Get a room on front side of building for beautiful view of mountains & sunset. King rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is an anomaly for the HoJo chain. We're told it's the oldest hotel in Lexington, which might lead one to believe it's a dog, but whoever owns this one has done--in our view--a super job of keeping it up. The rooms are large and clean, the beds are comfortable, and the view is amazing. This place sits at the top of a hill, with sweeping views of the countryside, and this is horse country, so it has a rural feel. Friendly staff, and the usual continental breakfast (waffles, cereal, fruit, biscuits, sometimes gravy, toast, coffee, juice) served by a lady who's actually happy to help you and happy to be working there. We adjusted our route back to NM from the east coast just to stay at this hotel again...and we'll be back. An added benefit: a mile up the road is the TA Lee Hi truck stop and Berky's Restaurant. Good menu, good food and--if you're hungry--check out the buffet. No wonder there are so many truck drivers there. Bottom line, this is a great, bargain hotel in a beautiful part of Virginia. If they ever close down, we'll be sad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front, on an upper floor, and enjoy the view. You can open the door to the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Howard Johnson Lexington very nice stay. All staff were GREAT!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel was a little scary -- top of the hill, creepy statues in the lobby, but we needed a safe place to spend the night on a long trip. Honestly, I had high hopes. But our key wouldn't work in the exterior door -- a major pain when you are carrying a kid and a Pack'n'Play. Then our room reeked of smoke -- even though I don't think there's been smoking rooms in a long time. The worst was that there were people in the room next to us, totally unnecessary in a nearly vacant hotel. We needed a quiet night and didn't get that.

I will say that breakfast was fine and the hotel served its purpose. But I won't be doing HoJo again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Friendly staff, hot water...beat up room with a giant bug on the wall. Entrance is so dark outside the closed restaurant you'll be scared to enter...with so many same-priced hotels nearby that were so nice, I really picked a bad one!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel staff was welcoming. I felt very comfortable checking in, the room was great and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.