We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a good stay, counter clerk was very polite and helped...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Lexington to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    205
    110
    51
    46
See reviews for
282
112
55
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Everything you read in the other reviews is generally true. The rooms are a bit tired, but clean. The staff at the front desk were all attentive. There was a bit of a funky smell in the hallways when we visited, but not in the room. But, when you consider the free breakfast, the $60 price is a bargain. If you're looking for a place to sleep at a good price, this is the place. Just don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I made reservations for 3 nights at this hotel based on traveler's previous reviews on Trip advisor. I do not consider myself to be a picky traveler but this hotel was one I would not stay in again. The room had wallpaper falling off the walls, the elevator floor was dirty and had food spilled all over it for 3 days (never was cleaned at all). I wore socks in the room as I didn't want to walk on the carpet and if I had not already prepaid, I would have left as there were many other choices in the town. I asked the front desk about historic sites and the teenage girl handed me a city map and said, "Sorry, I don't do history". Do not recommend this to anyone. The breakfast was okay but not much more than a continental.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

WORST HOTEL EVER! Made a reservation for a NON SMOKING room and was told when I checked in that they were "unable to accommodate" my non smoking room stay and placed me in a smoking room. I am SEVERELY allergic to smoke so I advised the staff that I could not stay in a room that was smoking. She stated, "I am sorry, we cannot accommodate your reservation." So I HAD to leave. I was charged for the stay when I NEVER STAYED THERE BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT ACCOMMODATE MY RESERVATION! WHAT WAS THE POINT IN MAKING A RESERVATION IF THEY DON'T OBEY IT?! DO. NOT. EVER. STAY. HERE!

Room Tip: Go across the street to the Hampton Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The old lady in the kitchen who oversees the breakfast is friendly and warm. It feels as if you are in someone's home and she is taking care of you. That experience more than the quality of food is memorable. Coffee was a disaster. So diluted! This hotel is located right next to two other motels (quality inn and days inn). So if you want to just crash for the night and want the cheapest room, price should be your criteria. But if you arrive early and want to enjoy the view from up the hill in the evening or morning, then this hotel should be worth your time. Every room has a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.