We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night stay to attend a funeral.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Lexington to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Locust Grove
1 review
“One Night stay to attend a funeral.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The staff was extremely accommodating, friendly, and efficient. Our ownly complaint would be the odor of smoking on the 5th floor We were also surprised at a dog barking every time we went to the canteen for snacks. We didn't hear him from our room though and he did not keep us awake. We liked the hotel location with its ease getting off an on to Rt 81 and 64.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    214
    120
    51
    47
See reviews for
294
116
55
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Howard Johnson Inn Lexington could not be more conveniently located - just off I-81 and visibile from both the highway and the exit. The room was immaculate and the bed was comfortable - just the thing for guests who arrived late and were ready to crash! Our trip was a quick one night stay on the way to Bluefield, WV, and we were up early to get going again. The continental breakfast offering was a tasty way to start the day. Your staff was friendly, welcoming and helpful. Would stay there again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTSMOUTH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is an older HoJo. The restaurant has been closed for some time. It's at the top of the hill but the access road needs some work. The room was clean and comfortable. It needs some updating; The TV is an old CRT model. WiFi is free, but the table to put the laptop on is not close to any electrical outlet. I moved it close to the bathroom door but still had to run the AC cord across the spare bed. The table was not very stable. The bathroom was clean and modern. We liked having another basin outside the bathroom so one person could use that while another was using the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the heat was adaquate. The complimentary breakfast was not as great as some we have had but it was OK. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the price was right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wile travling we stayed at howard johnson on way and on way back. On way back we arived very late n the gentleman at front desk was very polite n helpful n gave us a great price! The rooms r great 4 a quick overnite stay. Nothing fancy bt had the basics and we're clean. The waffle breakfast was good. I would defantly recomend this to any weary travlers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.