We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Lexington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a large king room with a gorgeous view. I guess the benefit to being one of the older motels in town is that you have one of the best locations. While the decor is certainly dated and some corners looked dusty, they have done a good job of updating the important things: the bed was extremely comfortable, the sheets were smooth, the shower curtain was clean, and the towels were fluffy.

Just two negatives: While the staff was generally friendly and efficient, it would have been nice if the pack-n-play had been set up in our room, rather than just put there for us to assemble at 11 p.m. Also, the breakfast left much to be desired. Not many options, and very little that was healthy other than the packets of oatmeal. The eggs were practically inedible. It's hard to complain about a free breakfast at the price we paid for the room, but I would have rather paid less for the room and gotten breakfast elsewhere. If we'd been staying more than one night, I would have skipped the hotel's breakfast and been happier.

We'll definitely return to this hotel the next time we're driving through Lexington. I'd like to come in the summer to enjoy the pool and the putt putt course!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    175
    96
    47
    38
See reviews for
249
102
45
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

All I really wanted was a good night's sleep during a long trip. To that end, my low expectations were exceeded.

The room was quite adequate, even spacious, with only a king-size bed in mine. The internet connection worked well (which so seldom happens at hotels like this) and all the furnishings and bathroom layout were up to par. This was no Ritz, and I'm not sure I would have wanted to spend lots of time there while exploring the area, but for passing through, it was up to snuff.

The breakfast gets its own paragraph because it was more than I expected. One could make their own waffles, toast their own English muffins, select their own fruit or cereal, and more. Again, nothing extravagant, but it definitely saved me time and money as I scrambled to get on the road. I'll keep this in mind should I pass through Lexington again.

Hopefully soon they'll fix the sign so folks can find the circuitous driveway in the dark.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We had to find this in the dark, and as other reviews stated, it is VERY hard to find! We could see it, just couldn't find any signs telling us how to get there. Room was basic, would have like a king bed, only doubles were offered. bed was hard as a board, my mother in law also said her bed was very hard. breakfast was decent, it got us down the road without having to waste time to go somewhere else to eat. bath was very small, not enough room to put cosmetic items..it was a pain.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The room was very large, they have upgraded the mattresses and the beds are very comfortable. Everything else in rthe room is older but in good condition. There is a decent breakfast. The help was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.