We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wasn't as nice as the pics” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Lexington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Lexington
richmond, va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It wasn't as nice as the pics”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Rooms were less than "average", breakfast was your normal free food so that wasn't too bad. It was mostly the rooms that bothered me; had an odor about them and it was def. an older hotel and just not kept up. The pictures look beautiful but not so much. HOWEVER, the pool was LARGE and very nice on the 100 degree evening we were there. They also had a mini golf area set up for the kids. I don't think it was worth the 75 bucks I paid....not that it is alot but you are in the middle of nowhere and i would have gladly spent more for a cleaner room. Lumpy pillows and def. did not use the blankets etc. Air condition wasnt very cool either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    175
    96
    47
    38
See reviews for
249
102
45
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here because the hotel gives us a discounted rates since we attend the horse shows at the Virginia horse center each year. But you definitely get what you pay for. The breakfast ok, they have breads, waffles, eggs juice and coffee. The beds in the rooms are more like sleeping on cardboard. The tv in our room would go fuzzy until we would tap the side of it and the picture would return to normal. The room had an overall musty smell to it. The air conditioner is so loud it wakes you up in the middle of the night when it turns on. While I was showering the water would turn scalding hot...so i would turn the temp down and it would go freezing...which made it difficult to take a shower there. I used the treadmill in their gym but the tread was so worn down it made it too slippery to run on it. The only plus to this hotel is that the staff is really nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We didn't expect the hotel to be so modern and up to date. Everything, and I mean everything was redone and so very clean and nice. Friendly staff and great nights rest. I will stay here every time I go through this area.

Bob and Karla Hall

Paducah Kentucky

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnestown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The room was large, clean and well maintained. Hotel is at the top of a hill. Nice views of the Blue Ridge Mountains from room. Great value. Basic continental breakfast. Would return.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountainside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We needed a hotel for the volunteers for our horse show. Someplace clean and willing to work with us. Joel Roy, the general manager and his staff went out of their way to take care of us! with 60 plus people in 40 rooms we probably proved to be a challenge but they took care of us like we were individual customers.

We will be back again next year!

Room Tip: Loved the veiw from the balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canal fulton ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Our family vacations to the beach have always included a layover someplace in Va. so when we chose Lexington Va. little did we know how rich in National Heritage our destination was. The staff at the Howard Johnson Inn was warm and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of the Blue Ridge mountains. We used our location as a base to explore local historical spots and the enjoy a wonderful meal at a local restaurant. Our complimentary morning breakfast was hearty enough to fuel us for the final leg of our destination. with all of the hospitality we experienced at our stay at Howard Johnson in Lexington ,our family has found at great new stop on our way to the beach! Thanks for Everything The Russell's

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The front desk staff was extremely helpful and accommodating and were especially helpful in making suggestions for sightseeing opportunities. The room was large and clean, and the windows were clean, I had no issues or complaints. The cleaning staff did a great job cleaning the room and the location and view from the balcony was great. There was plenty of hot water in the morning. The hotel is showing its age but everything was clean and well kept and in good condition and I was pleasantly surprised. I plan to stay there again this fall. I did not use the pool or the dining area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Lexington

Address: 2836 N. Lee Highway, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Lexington 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Lexington
Howard Johnson Lexington
Lexington Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.