We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Historic B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Stoneridge Lane, PO Box 38, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 Lexington B&B and Inns
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Historic B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

My wife and I had a very relaxing fall weekend at the Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast. The B&B is located several miles outside of Lexington and is located on a very expansive lawn with mountain views.

Rooms: Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. It included two comfortable chairs, a queen bed and a closet. Each day, they set out chocolates and small bottles of water. The full bath appeared to be brand new. The free WiFi was great - I have a smartphone and was getting an intermittent cell signal and the WiFi more than made up for that. However, the wooden floorboards were a bit creaky (understandable for a house built in 1829). Also, there was a 1-2 inch gap under the door to the hallway. We put pillows by the door to block the gap - it looks like others did the same thing in other rooms. The room also had a gas fireplace but we never got around to figuring out how to turn it on.

Breakfast: Breakfast was very good both mornings we were there. It included coffee and different juices each day. The breakfast started out with a first course each time - one morning, it was a yogurt mix and the next morning, it was mixed fruit. In their dining room, there is a large dining room table and two small tables that seat two each.

Rest of the Inn: They have a den with satellite TV (the rooms don't have TVs), many games, puzzles, books and DVDs and videos.

The living room was nice -- in the afternoons or evenings, they put out cookies, chocolate and sherry. The room also had plenty of places to sit with magazines, etc. On top of the piano in the room, they updated a sheet each day listing the first names of guests and their respective hometowns. I know that one of the previous posters didn't care for that. However, I thought that it was a nice touch to at least know fellow guests' first names and their hometowns. From a privacy perspective, I think that this is just fine since they left out last names.

The front porch was great -- there was plenty of seating, including rocking chairs. You look out on a water fountain right in front of the home and have a great view of the hills and mountains beyond. Visiting during the fall is great - you get a nice view of the changing colors of the leaves. I thoroughly enjoyed just sitting there with my morning coffee.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

What a beautiful home set on 30 acres. The home is 180 years old, that is the
middle part, two sections were built on later, but the origional structure is evident,
the molding, fireplaces and floors are origional. The furniture is antique and
elegant. Evelyn is a friendly host, and boy,can she cook. You look at the sausage,
eggs, baked grits and biscuit, a fruit parfait, and think OK, I've had this before, but wait
until you taste it. She KNOW how to season food, and choose such quality
ingredients, that it is a real treat. She sets out chocolates, and sherry for the
evening. You have the freedom of 2 very large comfortable rooms to lounge in,
with a large TV, and a large wonderful selection of books. She gives you lots
of privacy, and freedom to enjoy the house and the grounds. There are
log cabin type buildings on the grounds, and a graveyard. Deer are seen
at the edge of the woods. We loved the Wilma Evans room, it is so big, and
her rates are the lowest. Everything is to the highest quality, towels, sheets, etc.
and everything is so clean. You will be glad you stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Our stay at Stoneridge was truly a delightful experience. The property is nestled in the wooded hills of the Shenandoah Valley just minutes away from historic Lexington. If you are looking for somewhere to spend a restful, peaceful weekend - this is the place. The innkeepers, Jim and Evelyn, are warm and friendly and they make you feel at home.
Jim and Evelyn's son John is a superb chief. We made reservations for dinner and we were glad we did. I had the pan seared duck breast, my wife had the New York strip steak. Both were excellent.
We stayed in the John McCluer. If you are looking for a little more privacy, this is the room for you. It has its own outside stairway and its own private balcony that looks over the grounds.
We enjoyed our time at Stoneridge so much that we booked a stay for our daughter and son-in-law. Their experience was as ours - wonderful. We love to stay in B & Bs, and of all that we have stayed in, this is at the top of our list.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, attention to details.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

My husband raved about this place after we left as though he had stayed at a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. I felt it was nice but was not as enthusiastic. The woman we spoke to when we made our reservation was very helpful and patient with directions from downtown Lexington. Our names were printed on a sheet of paper on the front porch when we arrived. I thought this was a little weird and didn't understand the point of it. Kind of seemed like an invasion of privacy. The room was comfortable enough but nothing special. Evelyn, one of the owners, offered to assist us in making use of her over-the-top kitchen but then seemed to not be too happy when we asked if she could heat up cans of soup for us. We would have gladly done it ourselves but this met with resistance. She also mentioned in passing how much work her husband and son had to do in cutting down trees but to this I can only ask “Why cut them down at all?” The breakfast was very tasty but, as often is the case in B&Bs, too much pomp and circumstance was made over serving what really is just a basic meal. While waiting for breakfast to be served, I made the mistake of opening the blinds covering one of the dining room windows so I could see outside. Evelyn promptly shut them again. Wi-Fi internet access worked at first but not in the morning.

  • Liked — That my husband was so happy to be there
  • Disliked — Too much space between bottom of bedroom doors and floor -- let in noise, light, etc.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed at Stoneridge B&B for one night on our trip through the Blue Ridge Parkway in Oct. We were first greeted at the door by a letter in a picture frame welcoming us with a Happy Anniversary note. We were then shown around the property, then led to our room which was perfectly made up and appointed. I always pay particular attention to the details and condition of places we stay at and I have to say EVERYTHING was immaculate. The bed was perfectly made, comfortable and cozy, crisp, soft "like new" sheets. Not a speck of mold or dust anywhere. There were chocolates and bottled water on our dresser for our enjoyment, plenty of towels, complimentary shampoos and soaps and even the hair dryer cord was perfectly wound around the nozzle! They had menus handy of local restaraunts and eateries in town so we didn't have to run from place to place. They had their first frost that next morning so we awoke to a beautiful postcard of white, shimmery grounds. The inside climate was kept at a perfect, steady temperature so we had a peaceful nights sleep. You will see deer grazing on the manicured property. The innkeepers have many interesting collections throughout the house to browse from their world travels. Breakfast was delicious, shared by other patrons of the inn. We had great conversations with the other guests during breakfast. This was perhaps our favorite stay of all the places we have visited. This is how a B & B should be run. I even left my pajamas behind and Evelyn mailed them back to me! Thank you Stoneridge, I would love to come back and recommend you very highly to anyone.

  • Liked — Attention to details/cleanliness
  • Disliked — Could only stay one night!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau WI
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Our second stay was as enjoyable as the first. Hosts are gracious and surroundings are comfortable. Wonderful gourmet breakfasts. Beautiful grounds.

We were delayed in our arrival due to flight problems. How wonderful to see hosts smiling at the door at 11:30 PM to welcome us.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

We just arrived home from a one night getaway to Stoneridge Inn and miss it already. Evelyn and Sandy were wonderful hosts (Jim was not feeling well and John was out of town so we did not get to meet them). The house was beautiful and immaculate.

We had dinner at the Inn last night and the food was fabulous. Our first course was a homemade tomato-basil soup that was out of this world. That was followed by a spring mix salad with pears and a raspberry-pomegranate vinaigrette dressing (delicious combination). For the main course I had beef tenderloin with a blue-cheese demi-glace and my wife had roasted chicken breast with an asiago sauce. They were each served with roast garlic mashed potatoes and delicious vegetables. We ended our meal with a chocolate mousse. The entire meal was fabulous.

Our room was on the second level with a private exterior entrance. The room had a gas fireplace and a jacuzzi tub large enough for two. We opted for the romance package which included the dinner for two, fresh cut flowers in our room, a bottle of champagne, and chocolate truffles from Cocoa Mills (a local chocolatier that is wonderful). In addition, upon arrival we asked Evelyn to select a bottle of wine for us to enjoy before dinner, she recommended Rockbridge Vineyards Meritage. The wine was wonderful.

This morning's breakfast started with fresh fruit and cranberry-orange juice. Of course, there was also fresh brewed coffee, various teas, and hot cocoa. We then had spinach and feta frittata with a chardonnay sauce, applewood smoked bacon, and a homemade biscuit. The breakfast was also wonderful!

Overall, this was a perfect getaway and we highly recommend it. The innkeepers do not cut any corners, from brownies and spiced lemonade upon arrival to complimentary sherry and chocolate in the evening. Not to mention, every special request we made was quickly and cheerfully fulfilled. Be sure to reserve some time to roam downtown Lexington and enjoy the local shops. Cocoa Mills is on Nelson Street and it is a must visit.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stoneridge Lane, PO Box 38, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.