We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Stoneridge Lane, PO Box 38, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed here in January 2011. Overall, the property was well appointed. We stayed in the Nathan McCleur Suite which offered a queen size bed, two-person jacuzzi tub, separate bathroom with bath and shower, a sitting room, gas fireplace, and separate bedroom (single bed).

Noise could have been an issue; however we were fortunate that the couple in the suite below us went to bed about the same time we did. We could hear their voices and the jacuzzi tub when it was running. Again, older home, so not unexpected.

The hosts were very accomodating. The pilot light on our gas fireplace would not light and they worked hard to get it going. Finally the did and the fireplace was a nice touch for a quiet getaway.

The bed was comfortable and because the home was seclueded - there was no outside noise. Although if you are used to ambient noise, the quiet may actually be loud to you (if you know what I mean).

The breakfast in the morning was excellent and was very filling.

The B&B is located within close proximity of Lexington and the hosts can advise you of where to eat and what to see in town. The town also has a lovely visitors center and the employees there are more than happy to assist.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this location and will return.

Room Tip: The B&B website give very detailed descriptions of the rooms. Book early if you want a good cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Quite, peaceful, relaxing and beautiful stay. Our first stay at a b&b but it was great we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

One can only endorse all of the other outstanding reviews of this bed and breakfast--it it what everyone hopes to find. Evelyn and Jim could not have been better hosts and certainly must be congratulated for not missing a single detail in their enterprise. We stayed with them four nights and would have been delighted to stay at least a week more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stayed here for two nights as part of a road trip. Found it easily with directions given but were glad it was daylight or it might have been more difficult. Received a warm welcome from Evelyn and were shown around the property. Beautiful grounds with much wildlife to see. Our room was lovely with generous bathroom with jacuzzi bath. We enjoyed using the terrace to relax on and the fresh lemonade provided. Evelyn was a fountain of knowledge about the house, area and things to do. Some of the breakfast items were not entirely to our taste - but that is down to personal choice. We are not used to grits and French toast in England and it was unfamiliar to us. There was no doubt that the breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented. I would certainly recommend this property

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

My wife and I had a very relaxing fall weekend at the Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast. The B&B is located several miles outside of Lexington and is located on a very expansive lawn with mountain views.

Rooms: Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. It included two comfortable chairs, a queen bed and a closet. Each day, they set out chocolates and small bottles of water. The full bath appeared to be brand new. The free WiFi was great - I have a smartphone and was getting an intermittent cell signal and the WiFi more than made up for that. However, the wooden floorboards were a bit creaky (understandable for a house built in 1829). Also, there was a 1-2 inch gap under the door to the hallway. We put pillows by the door to block the gap - it looks like others did the same thing in other rooms. The room also had a gas fireplace but we never got around to figuring out how to turn it on.

Breakfast: Breakfast was very good both mornings we were there. It included coffee and different juices each day. The breakfast started out with a first course each time - one morning, it was a yogurt mix and the next morning, it was mixed fruit. In their dining room, there is a large dining room table and two small tables that seat two each.

Rest of the Inn: They have a den with satellite TV (the rooms don't have TVs), many games, puzzles, books and DVDs and videos.

The living room was nice -- in the afternoons or evenings, they put out cookies, chocolate and sherry. The room also had plenty of places to sit with magazines, etc. On top of the piano in the room, they updated a sheet each day listing the first names of guests and their respective hometowns. I know that one of the previous posters didn't care for that. However, I thought that it was a nice touch to at least know fellow guests' first names and their hometowns. From a privacy perspective, I think that this is just fine since they left out last names.

The front porch was great -- there was plenty of seating, including rocking chairs. You look out on a water fountain right in front of the home and have a great view of the hills and mountains beyond. Visiting during the fall is great - you get a nice view of the changing colors of the leaves. I thoroughly enjoyed just sitting there with my morning coffee.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

What a beautiful home set on 30 acres. The home is 180 years old, that is the
middle part, two sections were built on later, but the origional structure is evident,
the molding, fireplaces and floors are origional. The furniture is antique and
elegant. Evelyn is a friendly host, and boy,can she cook. You look at the sausage,
eggs, baked grits and biscuit, a fruit parfait, and think OK, I've had this before, but wait
until you taste it. She KNOW how to season food, and choose such quality
ingredients, that it is a real treat. She sets out chocolates, and sherry for the
evening. You have the freedom of 2 very large comfortable rooms to lounge in,
with a large TV, and a large wonderful selection of books. She gives you lots
of privacy, and freedom to enjoy the house and the grounds. There are
log cabin type buildings on the grounds, and a graveyard. Deer are seen
at the edge of the woods. We loved the Wilma Evans room, it is so big, and
her rates are the lowest. Everything is to the highest quality, towels, sheets, etc.
and everything is so clean. You will be glad you stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Our stay at Stoneridge was truly a delightful experience. The property is nestled in the wooded hills of the Shenandoah Valley just minutes away from historic Lexington. If you are looking for somewhere to spend a restful, peaceful weekend - this is the place. The innkeepers, Jim and Evelyn, are warm and friendly and they make you feel at home.
Jim and Evelyn's son John is a superb chief. We made reservations for dinner and we were glad we did. I had the pan seared duck breast, my wife had the New York strip steak. Both were excellent.
We stayed in the John McCluer. If you are looking for a little more privacy, this is the room for you. It has its own outside stairway and its own private balcony that looks over the grounds.
We enjoyed our time at Stoneridge so much that we booked a stay for our daughter and son-in-law. Their experience was as ours - wonderful. We love to stay in B & Bs, and of all that we have stayed in, this is at the top of our list.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, attention to details.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
8.1 mi away
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
4.1 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stoneridge Lane, PO Box 38, Lexington, VA 24450
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoneridge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.