We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail Inn

Abigail Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abigail Inn
Save
You added Abigail Inn to your Saves list
408 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450 (Formerly Inn at Lexington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Lexington B&B and Inns
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Delightful Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This B&B was even better than the photos! Host was friendly and helpful and treated us as if we were guests in his home (which we were!). We were on a Sisters' Get-together - one staying in the Jefferson Room and the other three of us in the Barracks Room. All of us slept well and enjoyed a luxurious well-equipped bathroom. Breakfast in the morning is served at 8 a.m. for all guests. We sat at a beautiful long table in a very formal dining room and we were served a delightful meal. Seated at the same time gave everyone an opportunity to visit and have conversation with the owner. If you plan to visit Lexington, this is by far the best place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are handsomely decorated. Rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors and you need to walk up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful B&B!! My family and my parents (traveling from Italy) spent 1 night at the Abigail Inn. We all loved it but my parents were the most impressed and could not stop talking about it. The rooms are beautiful & clean. Our breakfast was great and my parents, used to European breakfast, were so impressed and loved it. We have 2 children and this is one of the few B&B that allows children. Landey arranged a mattress on the floor in the Wilson room for one of our kid. Worked out great. The king size bed was great for the rest of us. My mom absolutely loved the Lee room, so many details. We also used the TV room downstairs where we were able to watch some TV and play some board games.
Again, wonderful house, clean and quiet, super nice owner, great stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigailinnkeeper, Owner at Abigail Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much. It was lovely having your family stay with us, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and tell others about your stay, we greatly appreciate it. Blessings on you all :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a fantastic B&B that's just a short walk from downtown Lexington. There are only three guestrooms, and we stayed in a lovely room with twin beds. We were the only guests at the time, so we had the run of the place and the Pattons' total attention. Everything was clean, comfortable, and elegantly decorated. While we didn't use the TV/game room, they have a large TV, sofa and bar downstairs for guests' use. Breakfast was fantastic, and the Pattons were lovely and accommodating hosts. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigailinnkeeper, Owner at Abigail Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Jeanne, thanks so much for taking the time to tell others about your experience here. We did want to point out that we actually have 6 rooms here at Abigail Inn, and an additional room called The Barracks with bunk-beds, a kitchenette, and sitting area that is often used for guests with children or large groups. There are three other rooms on the floor you stayed in, so that might account for the confusion. But we greatly appreciate all of the kind things you said about our inn. It was lovely having you stay with us and we are honored that you would recommend us so highly. Hope to see you again soon, blessings on you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

There is no better place to stay in Lexington. The home is beautiful, the rooms are well-decorated, and the location is perfect for Lexington. The downstairs game/sports room makes it perfect for socializing or entertaining friends in Lexington.

As nice as everything above is, the owners, Landey and Becky, go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. We had a team reunion and took up the entire hotel. From day one, Landey wanted to do nothing but accommodate, and every guest raved about his enthusiasm and welcoming nature.

Without a doubt, for any event or stay in Lexington, there is nowhere else I would stay.

Room Tip: The Marshall Room is the Inn-keepers favorite and was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigailinnkeeper, Owner at Abigail Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much! It was delightful having your group stay with us, and we're so glad you enjoyed yourselves. The game-room you mentioned has been newly rearranged, and we think it's a great place to play cards, watch a movie, or enjoy casual conversation. It's also secluded enough that a lively time won't inconvenience other guests. You were one of our first groups to use it since it was re-done, and we're glad you had a good time. As for accommodating you all, it was our pleasure. We hope you will make these reunions a tradition and continue to stay close as friends. Thanks again for choosing us, and blessings on you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were visiting some friends in Lexington and decided to give this one a try. Wow, were we blown away! Beautiful, clean, quiet with owner's who genuinely care about making you feel at home and giving you first class service. Great location on Main Street allowed us to walk to all restaurants and shops. Definitely give this one a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigailinnkeeper, Owner at Abigail Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We're so glad you were impressed with Abigail Inn and we appreciate your high recommendation. We hope you can come again soon and we can visit some more. Blessings on you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you find yourself in beautiful Lexington, Virginia, staying at the Abigail Inn is home away from home. The kind hospitality you will receive from owner's Mr. and Mrs. Patton is beyond word's.The inn is exquisitely decorated and impeccably clean. We enjoyed the privacy of our spacious and comfortable room as well as the the common rooms where we could pick a book from the shelves and quietly read or participate in the interesting conversation with the Patton's and other guest's. The inn is only a five minute walk to quaint shop's and restaurant's as well as historical sites that are must to see. As it is a bed and breakfast inn, upon waking up and going down stairs to the beautiful dining room, you are served an incredible breakfast. We so enjoyed our stay and plan on returning in only a few week's. We want to thank the Patton's for the home away from home they have created for anyone who should stay there and we are looking forward to seeing them again and staying at there beautiful inn. Ann Marie and George

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, clean, comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigailinnkeeper, Owner at Abigail Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much! We're delighted to hear that you felt at home here and that you had an enjoyable time. You're right, Lexington certainly is a beautiful town, and it's our pleasure to live and work in such a unique and interesting place. Looking forward to having you again in the future. Blessings on you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I am not a big B&B person because I like my privacy, but this place allowed us to both feel at home and maintain our privacy. Landry Patton was very personable. The convenience to all of downtown Lexington makes it the best place in town I know of currently .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abigail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail Inn

Address: 408 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450 (Formerly Inn at Lexington)
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.