We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail Inn

Abigail Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abigail Inn
Save
You added Abigail Inn to your Saves list
408 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450 (Formerly Inn at Lexington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Syracuse, New York
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you find yourself in beautiful Lexington, Virginia, staying at the Abigail Inn is home away from home. The kind hospitality you will receive from owner's Mr. and Mrs. Patton is beyond word's.The inn is exquisitely decorated and impeccably clean. We enjoyed the privacy of our spacious and comfortable room as well as the the common rooms where we could pick a book from the shelves and quietly read or participate in the interesting conversation with the Patton's and other guest's. The inn is only a five minute walk to quaint shop's and restaurant's as well as historical sites that are must to see. As it is a bed and breakfast inn, upon waking up and going down stairs to the beautiful dining room, you are served an incredible breakfast. We so enjoyed our stay and plan on returning in only a few week's. We want to thank the Patton's for the home away from home they have created for anyone who should stay there and we are looking forward to seeing them again and staying at there beautiful inn. Ann Marie and George

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, clean, comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigailinnkeeper, Owner at Abigail Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much! We're delighted to hear that you felt at home here and that you had an enjoyable time. You're right, Lexington certainly is a beautiful town, and it's our pleasure to live and work in such a unique and interesting place. Looking forward to having you again in the future. Blessings on you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I am not a big B&B person because I like my privacy, but this place allowed us to both feel at home and maintain our privacy. Landry Patton was very personable. The convenience to all of downtown Lexington makes it the best place in town I know of currently .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This Inn is wonderful. I spent 3 years in Lexington attending law school and the location of Abigail Inn is superb. You can easily walk to all the downtown shops and restaurants yet the location is quiet and peaceful.

Landey and his wife were the most gracious hosts who made sure our stay was incredible. The breakfast was amazing and the warm cookies in the evening were a nice touch. The rooms are large and nicely furnished with very comfortable bedding. the living areas are very comfortable and offer great views of the large grounds and Lexington atmosphere.

You will not be dissapointed with the Abigail Inn and just like us will vow to return many times because it feels like home.

Thanks for making our return trip to Lexington one to remember!

Scott

Room Tip: Lee Room on second floor was quite large and very comfortable. Extremely quiet and great sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My stay at the Abigail Inn was absolutely delightful!! Nicely decorated common rooms and the veranda provided comfortable places to read and have conversation. A very comfy bed in the beautiful and spacious Lee room made for two nights of peaceful rest for me. Immaculate. Perfect location... within easy walking distance of the historical downtown area. Such a relaxing getaway for me! But what truly made the Abigail Inn warm and welcoming were Innkeepers extraordinaire, Scott and Karen! They made me feel like family... warmly welcomed and cared for. Their attention to detail... from the homemade cookies on the hallway table to their on-target recommendations of restaurants and wineries... just added to the positive experience of staying at the Abigail Inn. And last, but definitely not least... the breakfasts. As one reviewer described the amazing breakfast, "(it was worth the experience alone.)"! I couldn't agree more! The breakfasts Karen prepared, as well as their presentation, were excellent and will keep this guest looking forward to my next stay at the Abigail Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recently traveling thru Virginia, we found the Abigail Inn. Words cannot describe the beauty of the Inn and the grounds as well as the perfect Inn Keepers who welcomed us at a late hour of the night. Our room, the Washington, was perfectly decorated and comfy - a restful and relaxing night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning was hosted by the owner and cannot describe the delicious and hearty breakfast we had. A definite Inn to stay at!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place was awesome - a very peaceful and relaxing place, comfortable and uniquely decorated. They have a great hot tub, the breakfast was amazing (it was worth the experience alone), and the innkeepers treated us like family. Everything about this place is warm and friendly. We walked right out the front door and down Main Street to see Jackson's burial site, VMI and locals shops. Scenic views, and a walking nice trail by a creek a block away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our four night stay in Lexington was made perfect by Abigail Inn. Innkeepers Karen and Scott happily attended to our every needs and made sure our stay was delightful. Slept like a log on the dream mattresses. Easy walk to downtown and perfect location. Nice amenities and delicious breakfasts!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abigail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail Inn

Address: 408 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450 (Formerly Inn at Lexington)
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.