We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abigail Inn

Abigail Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abigail Inn
Save
You added Abigail Inn to your Saves list
408 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450 (Formerly Inn at Lexington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Lexington B&B and Inns
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charming and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at the Abigail Inn with my sister for a girls getaway. This B&B was charming, quiet, and amazing. We stayed in the Jackson room and it was clean, very well decorated and had a huge bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and the innkeeper was so kind and gracious. The location was perfect as it was very quiet, yet within walking distance of downtown. We will certainly be returning to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Abigail Inn in 10/2012 (2 days) for VMI Parent Weekend and in 5/2013 (3 days) for our son�s graduation. Our October stay was a wonderful experience, but our stay in May was even better because of the new Inn Keepers (Karen and Scott). Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, the home is well-appointed and charming, and the rooms were VERY clean, quiet and comfortable. There were nine in our party (4 rooms) and everyone had a great time. Karen & Scott went out of their way to make sure we had whatever we needed; an added bonus was learning that one of their sons also graduated from VMI, so they truly related to how special the week was for our family. We�ll certainly be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Abigail inn during a visit to Lexington for my 25th reunion Ay Washington and Lee. 6 couples rented the entire house and it was perfect. The accommodations are great. We sat on the upstairs and downstairs porches most of out trip it was so relaxing. Breakfast was prepared by the innkeepers each morning and it was terrific. Also had them prepare dinner one night for convenience and it was the best meal of the weekend. Plenty of room to be on your own, plenty of room to gather as a group. Innkeepers were professional yet relaxes and comfortable. We have stayed at the Abigail twice and it will not be the last.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had the good fortune to stay at the Abigail Inn for several Days in late March and had a wonderful time. The hosts, Scott and Karen, were cordial, helpful and very inviting and I felt right at home. I don't particularly enjoy the mornings, but the food alone was always worth waking up for! The building is beautiful, the furnishings are comfortable. I particularly enjoyed working and reading on the couch in the front room. The house is large enough to feel you have your private space, but the spaces are cozy enough to feel comfortable and relaxing. The cold weather is my only complaint but it had little impact being that downtown Lexington was only a 5 minute walk. I've already recommended this place to several friends and would love to return, I had a great experience here and look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Wilson room, its on the 3rd flood and is quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Jefferson Room and look forward to returning! This historic building is beautiful inside and out. The furnishings are lovely and comfortable, it is full of amazing paintings and prints, and Scott & Karen are wonderful innkeepers. Check in was easy and fast, we got a tour of the inn, chatted briefly, had a yummy cookie and got into our room. The Jefferson is a spacious room on the 3rd floor with a huge bathroom and a great view. The king bed was comfortable and the other furniture in the room was lovely. The bathroom was large-double vanities, big shower and we both were given an amenities bag. In the morning we came down to the aroma of fresh brewed coffee. Breakfast was delicious!! We had coffee, a choice of juices, water, yogurt, baked peach french toast, scrambled eggs and sausage. Sitting at the dining room table enjoying our meal with the other guests was a unique experience. The innkeepers are friendly, helpful and great cooks. I highly recommend the Abigail Inn and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Abigail Inn for 3 nights while visiting my brother at W&L. We have some dietary restrictions, and the lovely inn-keeping couple were extremely accommodating to our needs and treated us like family. Also, they were so kind as to let my brother hang out with us at the inn late at night (so he could be with us and study at the same time) and even at breakfast. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable, with sweet touches like a tiny rubber ducky on the tub. We also appreciated the ever-presence of cookie and candy around the inn. :) Our stay was wonderful, and we will certainly stay at the Abigail Inn again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We really enjoyed staying in the Abigail Inn! It was tastefully and beautifully decorated, with quality art throughout. Wes does an excellent job as a comfortable host and excellent cook. We enjoyed very much getting to visit extensively with Landy, one of the owners, also. The atmosphere is relaxed, but not intrusive.
We got to sit on the front balcony and enjoy watching a thunderstorm one night. Convenient to walk downtown or to the beautiful Stonewall Jackson cemetery in the evenings. Great place to enjoy Lexington from! Thank you for all you did to make us feel comfortable!

Room Tip: all rooms are handsomely decorated with beautiful all wood furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abigail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail Inn

Address: 408 South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450 (Formerly Inn at Lexington)
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.