We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly Comfort Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Comfort Way, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly Comfort Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Attended a wedding nearby and stayed at Comfort Inn Horse Center. Convenient to I-64/81. Hotel was safe, clean, staff friendly and efficient. Wifi worked well. A nice inviting pool area and patio. A full breakfast in the dining room. A family diner is located across the parking lot for buffet style meals. I'd stay again if passing through the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmva428, General Manager at Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Lexington. We appreciate you taking the time to review our property.We are happy you felt safe and the cleanliness and staff performance met your expectations. We hope you will give us the opportunity to help you with your future lodging needs.

Thank you
Nellie Benson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    43
    24
    4
    8
See reviews for
48
29
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed last week end .Staff were good .They really worked hard to refill and clean the breakfast room. And they were helpful too.Location is easy to find.I got a AAA discount when I booked online through the choice hotel site. Felt that ,considering the faciIities price is wee bit high. I wanted to stay near the natural bridge attractions.Despite the discounted price in my opinion rooms were bit stuffy with one small window,with no option of opening it and getting some fresh air . This is about 11 miles away from natural bridge attractions .The indoor pool is good and looks cosy. There were no towels there. Going back to the room noticed by accident a small note in the bathroom ,"pool towels are available , in the front desk ". One has to walk semi naked in the lobby to ask for a towel . This hotel could also use a gym . I wanted to do some light exercise or even could have settled for a walk . But there is no space outside to take a walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
their hotels but wish that you would try them again.
I want to thank you for your review. I am glad you felt the staff was helpful and worked hard to keep the breakfast refilled. We are sorry you felt the prices were a bit high. Sometimes in Lexington there are a lot of different events going on that do drive demand up. We are glad you got to visit on of Rockbridge County’s treasures, Natural Bridge. We are sorry for the towels being at the front desk. We had had some issues with them being in the pool area. If you are ever coming back to the area be sure to give us a call at 540-463-7311 or email us at DLIsalesLEX@gmail.com.
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a nice hotel in a good location. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean, beds were comfortable and breakfast was good.

We stayed here to take advantage of the "stay two nights and get one free" promotion put on by choice hotels. Boy did Choice Hotels take advantage of us. After staying three nights in different locations Choice Hotels told us we didn't have enough points to stay at a comfort Inn. Customer Service told us to read the fine print. We were pretty upset and asked for supervisor, he quoted the company line and when we asked his name he hung up on us,

This was a decent hotel, but the deceitful way Choice Hotels ran this promotion we will never stay at a Choice Hotels location again and recommend no one else does either.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
I am very sorry you were not satisfied with the Choice Brand. This hotel has been a member of Choice for many years and we have enjoyed our partnership with Choice. We can assure you they are trying to make the best possible deal for both you and their brand. I am very sorry you have lost your faith in their hotels but wish that you would try them again.
I am glad other than your issue with Choice, who only franchise the hotels and doesn’t actually own the actual hotel you stayed at, that you did enjoy your stay with us at Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center. If you have any issues with the hotel please feel free to call us at 540-463-7311 or email me personally at DLIsalesLEX@gmail.com.
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for the past several years. Great location. Easy on and off the interstate. It is a 10 minute drive to downtown Lexington, Va. The breakfast is nice. Very clean. Great bed and bathroom. A lot of parking. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us for the past several years. Your dedication to us means a lot to the entire staff. We are pleased to have folks that return to us over and over again when they visit Lexington.
Your kind words about our hotel will be shared with others. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Pros: Very quiet, clean, efficient - and friendly; an easy drive to the campuses and downtown area of Lexington; easy highway access; attractive property

Cons: Hard to find, but primarily because we weren't expecting any difficulty. After turning right from US 11, the hotel's street is an IMMEDIATE, second, right turn. The hotel is not on the principal street, so it's easy to miss. Also, if you are going for the Virginia Horse Center, you should know it's not in proximity to this hotel; in fact, we never saw it.

Once you have arrived, unless you choose the country buffet next door, you will have to drive for anything you may need.

The only real downside at all, however, is lack of space for breakfast. Both the seating and the service areas are limited, something we experienced even though the hotel was not at all crowded.

Overall, we were comfortable and would stay again.

Room Tip: We chose a high floor away from the elevator and would do so again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review laying out the area to future guests. Our hotel used to be the closest hotel to the Virginia Horse Center, but this is no longer the case, although you probably couldn't tell it’s age with our new renovation completed. We are sorry you found our breakfast bar crowed. We try to have the room over flow into the hallway to give people more room. We are thrilled you would stay again and if you are ever in this area again we look forward to seeing you!
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Went for the fall colors. Nice hotel, very friendly staff. COMFORTABLE beds, rooms were clean and smelled very fresh. I was impressed with the pool area, even tho we didn't swim. It's not large, but does accommodate wheelchair bound guests, which I thought was an excellent idea. Several restaurants in the area and a health food store within walking distance. Beautiful view of the mountains. Breakfast area with eggs & sausage, bagels, muffins, waffle makers, coffee, tea. And a staff person there if you need help. Very we'll run. The weekend we were there the water heater went out, which made for some laughs for those who know how to roll with the punches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel. We enjoy hearing how much guests enjoyed our hotel and we are pleased your stay with us was wonderful despite having to roll with the punches. We hope if you are back in the area you will be sure to stay with us!
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Pros: very nice front desk personnel, clean rooms, nice TV's, and good location.
Cons: pool is ok but water was not normal. Not sure if it had too much chlorine in it or what, but it needed some work. Breakfast was ok.

Bottom line is I would stay here again as it is worth about what I paid for ($89)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominionLodgingSales, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are glad to hear you would stay here again! We are sorry something was wrong with the pool and I am sure we will have it cleared up in no time. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your stay again if you are back in the area.
Thank you,
Stacey DeHaven
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center

Address: 62 Comfort Way, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMFORT INN VIRGINIA HORSE CENTER Discover the southern tip of the Shenandoah Valley when you stay at our Comfort Inn(R) Virginia Horse Center hotel in Lexington, Virginia. Our pet-friendly family hotel in Lexington is near points of interest like: Virginia Military Institute Museum Washington and Lee University Natural Bridge of Virginia - National Historic Landmark Shenandoah Valley Agricultural Research and Extension Center Blue Ridge Parkway There are a wide variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and specialty shops surrounding our Lexington hotel. While at our hotel, guests are invited to take advantage of the picnic area, sundeck and copy and fax services. Additional amenities at our hotel include: Free WiFi Free weekday newspaper Free coffee Indoor pool Guest laundry facilities Get going with a great breakfast. Start your morning in Lexington with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. All guest rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, TVs, irons and ironing boards. Whether you're traveling for leisure or business, alone or with your kids, our Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center hotel offers accommodations for every type of travel. Lexington, VA hotels like ours are proud to offer hotel rooms to relax and unwind no matter what reason you travel. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Hotel Lexington
Comfort Inn Lexington
Lexington Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.