We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Southern Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, United States
1 review
“A Southern Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

To travel in Virginia and neighboring states is to experience Southern warmth and gentle manners. Southern hospitality is very contagious. You find stranagers actually holding the door for you. While driving, looking for that hard-to-find address, locals will stop and allow you to get in the rush hour line. Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    138
    41
    14
    5
See reviews for
228
156
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Hampton Inn Lexington on our way to DC. Our room was a motel-like room except that there were more amenities. The room was nice and clean, there was free internet, and there was a free breakfast (which I missed). Part of the inn, the front part which is shown in the photo, has nicer rooms which are more costly, but appear to be a whole lot nicer. Had my destination been Lexington, I would have chosen to stay in one of those rooms but we were only there for a few hours. It is called the historic part of the inn. The lobby and sitting area were quite nice.

I accidentally left my posturepedic pillow at the inn and they had it for me at the desk on our return trip. Very nice!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Hampton Inn, Lexington, Va. sits on a slight rise just on the edge of the quaint little town. When we drove in at night, I exclaimed, "Wow, look at that house" when it was actually the hotel. As a fan of traditional architecture, I was impressed with the way the hotel blended into the original home, and the wing of the hotel was subtly nestled into the trees. The staff was efficient and pleasant. Our room was clean and even contained a mini kitchen. I enjoyed a fresh cup of coffee on an amazing, columned side porch, facing a beautiful expanse of lawn on the east side. Our visit to Lexington was short, less than 18 hours, but I would absolutely choose to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hotel was great. Front desk staff outstanding. Provided all the information we needed concerning the hotel and attractions within town. Enjoyed the southern charm and manners of the hotel staff. Love the grounds and the manor house. Remind me of the Southern good Ole Days gone by. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The building and grounds are lovely. The hotel had all the Hampton Inn features. There is a beautiful downtown area located within easy walking distance with several upscale restaurants. A very nice change for someone traveling long distance. For me, a very nice feature was the fact that there was no TV in the breakfast room. How pleasant, and how rare, not to be bombarded with noise during the early morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for a wedding over the fourth of July. The hotel is great - room was clean, breakfast was good, and there was a pool at the hotel. The staff was VERY friendly. Would highly suggest this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Beautiful ground, lovingly preserved historic home, and new room additions which look as thought they could have been original to the structure. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely views of the grounds from the elegant breakfast area with indoor and outdoor seating options. Easy walk to historic downtown area.

Room Tip: 2 queens are large, ours overlooked the courtyard front entrance. Some rooms have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Address: 401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.