We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Santa Rosa, United States
1 review
“Warm welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at this hotel. Room was spotless and beautifully decorated. Internet and TV worked flawlessly. Breakfast was in some ways the usual complimentary, but in an immaculate space, with great care to keeping everything fresh and well stocked. The fresh fruit and coffee were the best we've ever had in a complimentary breakfast. Very, very quiet yet walking distance to town shops and restaurants. Easy access to highways.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    110
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
185
131
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Featuring an historic Southern mansion plus modern wings of additional rooms, this beautiful hotel on gracious grounds is the perfect place to visit VMI, Washington & Lee or tour historic Virginia horse and hunt country.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Main building of hotel is an 1840's mansion which features unique public spaces and some guest rooms normally found in a chain motel. Excellent example of well-accomplished adaptive reuse of an historic property with the usual high standards of Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a charming hotel. You can stay in the old, original home (for a higher room rate), or in the newer portion of the hotel, which has lovely rooms as well. I had stayed in another Lexington hotel the night before and switched to the Hampton Inn for a change, and immediately noticed the obvious cleanliness and newness of the rooms and baths. Really comfortable in every way. I had access through a side door and was able to come and go without going through the front entrance - very convenient. The breakfast room was a short walk under an outdoor covered walkway which connects the old to the new building and protects from rain, etc. Very nice - I saw a lovely pool area, not yet open for the season. This hotel is by far the closest to the Washington and Lee, and VMI campuses, and right down the street from the downtown area. Very convenient! Also fills up first when there are events at the schools so book early!

Room Tip: If you want quaint and historic, book in the older portion of the manor. These rooms are a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We visited Lexington for one of our children to look at a prospective college there. Booking through Hilton Honors I found this hotel located in walking distance to town and not far from where our tour would begin. Upon arrival, I knew we were onto something special. The grounds are manicured to perfection. The welcome was warm and happy. I was treated as if they had been waiting just for me. Information about the town, food options, etc. was great as were individual descriptions of different restaurants. The room was immaculate, as were the hallways, parking lots and public areas. Breakfast the next morning was beyond the normal Hampton free offering, and was served in the historic home that is also the lobby. Plenty of friendly staff asking if everything was OK or if we wanted more of something. This hotel is about 2 miles off Interstate 81, but we heard no auto noise at all. If we have the opportunity we will return again and again! Thank you for showing what hospitality is all about!

Room Tip: Can't see that there is a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Hampton Inn in Lexington, VA is a fantastic place to stay. Character that you have to see for your self. Downtown is within walking distance. Friendly staff and the summer night on the porch are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel was a delightful find on the 64 corridor. After a long drive, it provided an elegant retreat in an absolutely sublime setting. Room was large, quiet, clean & in working order. Good restaurants are nearby & Lexington is a must see authentic, antique town. Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Let them know what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Address: 401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.