We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My family and I spent one night here while on a quick weekend trip down to Lexington and Natural Bridge. We were very pleased with our stay from the start. The staff were very friendly, and more generous with the snacks/drinks than required by the Hilton Honors program. The room was very well maintained: clean and well made up. We enjoyed being able to walk easily into the historic downtown area of Lexington.

The hot breakfast was typical of what I've seen at a well-run Hampton Inn: eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, along with fresh fruit, oatmeal, cold cereals, and two waffle makers. A fair selection of breads and pastries as well.

If I ever find myself back down in Lexington, I would go out of my way to stay there again and would gladly recommend this property to family or friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    140
    41
    14
    5
See reviews for
234
158
36
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Definitely a different hotel -- clean, modern, and well-maintained rooms attached to a historic mansion once owned by a governor of VA. Offices, meeting rms, and breakfast in the historic home. Quiet and comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. Good breakfast with multiple hot selections. Bathrooms had nice high sinks, and rooms had ample electrical outlets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent one night here, on our way through to Charlottesville. I wish we'd had more time to enjoy this lovely hotel and the surroundings. We stayed in the manor house, in the VMI room. The room is HUGE, and is beautifully furnished with antiques as well as all modern conveniences. Our room had a fireplace but of course you can't use it during summer. The manor house has original wood floors, so the floor in our room was rather creaky but that adds to the charm of an old house. The bathroom was nicely remodeled and had a huge tub - so big that it needs two shower curtains to surround it. FYI there is no elevator in the manor house, so you have to carry your luggage up the stairs. They explained that if they put an elevator in the manor house, it would lose its historic register status. For breakfast, we simply had to walk downstairs, and there was a good variety of breakfast food selections - more than you usually get for a continental breakfast at similar hotels. The vending machine in the manor house did not have bottled water, but they had a water cooler where you could refill water bottles, or get water in a cup. The staff members were very friendly. The location was a bit hard to find - it's in an older part of town, but that too adds to the charm. We would definitely stay here again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a unique, historic Hampton. The main building is an historic plantation house. The rest of the hotel was added on and is typical Hampton. The main building and grounds are beautiful. The location is great--close enough to walk around downtown Lexington. I give it four starts for the above reasons. However, as mentioned, the breakfast was average. The bed was very firm. We stayed in a king room with a sofa bed and were only given 4 pillows total. When we requested an extra pillow, we were told they were all out. I know they were completely booked, but our room should have included complete bedding for the sofa bed. Running out of pillows, even when fully booked, seems a little odd, especially for the very high price we paid for the room that weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The setting of this hotel is absolutely beautiful, and the staff were all very nice. But the rooms are small, and breakfast is just okay. In addition, the walls are pretty thin, and we could hear our neighbor's television for a good part of the evening. This place definitely has ambiance, which is reflected in the high price of the rooms, but I'm not sure it's worth paying that premium to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We loved this historic 1825 inn and its history. The only downside was the breakfast was mediocre and the light from the hallway was annoying. The staff were very friendly and the hotel itself felt very homey.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Last minute change of plans found us at this historic governor's home/hotel. It is exquisite. The home is meticulously restored and this is where the delicious breakfast is served. An original log cabin sits next door. The ambiance, setting, food and details are,beyond reproach. It was certainly an unexpected surprise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
0.4 mi away
Robert E Lee Hotel
Robert E Lee Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
11.9 mi away
Natural Bridge Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Address: 401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.