We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My family and I spent one night here while on a quick weekend trip down to Lexington and Natural Bridge. We were very pleased with our stay from the start. The staff were very friendly, and more generous with the snacks/drinks than required by the Hilton Honors program. The room was very well maintained: clean and well made up. We enjoyed being able to walk easily into the historic downtown area of Lexington.

The hot breakfast was typical of what I've seen at a well-run Hampton Inn: eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, along with fresh fruit, oatmeal, cold cereals, and two waffle makers. A fair selection of breads and pastries as well.

If I ever find myself back down in Lexington, I would go out of my way to stay there again and would gladly recommend this property to family or friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    99
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
169
127
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Definitely a different hotel -- clean, modern, and well-maintained rooms attached to a historic mansion once owned by a governor of VA. Offices, meeting rms, and breakfast in the historic home. Quiet and comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. Good breakfast with multiple hot selections. Bathrooms had nice high sinks, and rooms had ample electrical outlets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent one night here, on our way through to Charlottesville. I wish we'd had more time to enjoy this lovely hotel and the surroundings. We stayed in the manor house, in the VMI room. The room is HUGE, and is beautifully furnished with antiques as well as all modern conveniences. Our room had a fireplace but of course you can't use it during summer. The manor house has original wood floors, so the floor in our room was rather creaky but that adds to the charm of an old house. The bathroom was nicely remodeled and had a huge tub - so big that it needs two shower curtains to surround it. FYI there is no elevator in the manor house, so you have to carry your luggage up the stairs. They explained that if they put an elevator in the manor house, it would lose its historic register status. For breakfast, we simply had to walk downstairs, and there was a good variety of breakfast food selections - more than you usually get for a continental breakfast at similar hotels. The vending machine in the manor house did not have bottled water, but they had a water cooler where you could refill water bottles, or get water in a cup. The staff members were very friendly. The location was a bit hard to find - it's in an older part of town, but that too adds to the charm. We would definitely stay here again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a unique, historic Hampton. The main building is an historic plantation house. The rest of the hotel was added on and is typical Hampton. The main building and grounds are beautiful. The location is great--close enough to walk around downtown Lexington. I give it four starts for the above reasons. However, as mentioned, the breakfast was average. The bed was very firm. We stayed in a king room with a sofa bed and were only given 4 pillows total. When we requested an extra pillow, we were told they were all out. I know they were completely booked, but our room should have included complete bedding for the sofa bed. Running out of pillows, even when fully booked, seems a little odd, especially for the very high price we paid for the room that weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The setting of this hotel is absolutely beautiful, and the staff were all very nice. But the rooms are small, and breakfast is just okay. In addition, the walls are pretty thin, and we could hear our neighbor's television for a good part of the evening. This place definitely has ambiance, which is reflected in the high price of the rooms, but I'm not sure it's worth paying that premium to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We loved this historic 1825 inn and its history. The only downside was the breakfast was mediocre and the light from the hallway was annoying. The staff were very friendly and the hotel itself felt very homey.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Last minute change of plans found us at this historic governor's home/hotel. It is exquisite. The home is meticulously restored and this is where the delicious breakfast is served. An original log cabin sits next door. The ambiance, setting, food and details are,beyond reproach. It was certainly an unexpected surprise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Address: 401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.