We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nephews graduation June 7,2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Lexington
Church Hill, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nephews graduation June 7,2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

WOW!!!, I grew up near Lexington and their historical district,and somewhere along the line forgot how beautiful the citiy is w/all the history it holds(guess it was the yearly field trips to the same places,that made me not see it). Anyway we came in for my nephews high school graduation from PMHS and being my boyfriend is a big history buff, what better place than the Historical District.
He went on line and found Col Alto(Hampton Inn) and asked me what I thought about staying there,I said sure.Before we left Tn. driving up that morning they called and upgraded us to the Manor.(thank you)
WOW is all I could say when we arrived. We entered the lobby and was greated by the friendliest/sweetest staff.Our room was right off the lobby, and the room was awesome,with our own private porch looking out at the nice garden area, pool,etc. Room service every morning was included in our stay. We visited VMI and several other places, including the Rockbridge Winery(right across from the farm I grew up on.)We fell in love w/Col Alto and look fwd to another stay. If you have a chance to stay there please do, you will not be disappointed.This was the greatest place to stay at from my hometown area.

Room Tip: even though our room was right off the lobby it was quiet, you had entrance to front door,,garden ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    116
    37
    11
    4
See reviews for
192
138
28
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel on our first visit to Lexington. The property is bipolar with a historic mansion acting as the reception, lobby, and breakfast area, and a modern hotel at the back. The room was spacious, but, given the layout, somewhat distant from the lobby and hard to find. The staff was friendly and helpful when we wanted to see the town and find a restaurant.

Room Tip: It's a long way from the elevator, way at the back, to most of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ga
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

this a great place to stay b/c of the location and the history. We walked into Lexington 3 days and walked to VMI and W&L to the historic sites there. The property is well situated, the staff is very friendly; the breakfast is great; the rooms are well outfitted. The grounds are beautiful. We love to stay here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful historic property. College town. lots of restaurants nearby, that we were told they are all within walking distance. Not so, if you arrive late and are tired. Be prepared to walk a lot. Also there are no cabs in the area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were going to do some activities in the Natural Bridge area. First things first, the property is gorgeous. Lots of trees and grass and it is very well taken care of. There are benches here and there under the trees so you can relax and enjoy the property. The check in area is very clean and in the historic part of the building so it has a lot of charm. The hotel is sprawling and all brick and really one of the nicest Hampton Inn property's I have ever seen. It helped that we were there on a gorgeous sunny day so it really highlighted all that the hotel had to offer. The staff is pleasant and courteous. As Gold HH members, we got to pick out our drinks and snacks for free.

Now onto the room and room location. Our room was a standard Hampton room with two queen beds. Nothing unusual there. We were in the side part of the building on the first floor (indoor room, not one with outside access), right across from the gym and a few doors down from the door that led outside to the pool/walkway to the breakfast area. We heard doors slamming ALL DAY AND NIGHT LONG. I am not kidding, it was the most disruptive hotel stay I have ever had. In order to try to drown out the noise, we turned up the fan on high on the AC unit. The AC unit itself was incredibly annoying and loud as well, shutting on and off like a semi truck, waking us up every time it did so. I even always bring a fan with me to provide some white noise and that didn't help either. Neither my husband or I slept more than a few hours as we could not have been in a worse location in the hotel with the doors slamming and our AC unit did nothing to soothe. If we had been staying there a second longer, I would have requested an immediate room change. I cannot emphasize this enough - request rooms AWAY from the walkway door and gym if you want to have any chance of getting a good nights rest!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

When I first arrived at the Hampton Inn in Lexington, VA, I thought it could not possibly be a Hampton. While most of the chain have a set "look", this hotel seems more like a non-chain bit of southern majesty. Yet, it was a Hampton. The lobby and breakfast area are located in an historic brick mansion, with the rest of the hotel built in the 1990s. The woman who registered us was happy to share the history of the property and the area. Grounds surrounding this hotel are well kept and perfect for picnicking and photo ops. Understandably, many weddings and receptions are held at this hotel, in fact, a special "horse and buggy parking area" is assigned outside the main house. Though the building is historic, the hotel has all of the latest amenities, including a fully stocked fitness center and seasonal outdoor pool and whirlpool. Another historic building, this one a cabin, sits behind the newer portion of the hotel. Located just under three miles from route 81, this hotel, though pricier than many Hamptons, is a find. Restaurants, shopping, and history are all within walking distance. Note: standard rooms lack microwaves and fridges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a beautiful historic old mansion with additional hotel rooms nicely added on to the back. Lovely grounds with stately old trees surround the building, perfect for strolling around or sitting and relaxing. The reception/check-in desk is in the old mansion and check-in was speedy and efficient. We were given a map of area restaurants and told which ones were open on Sunday. Freshly baked chocolate chip cookies were offered and accepted. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast the next morning was great... extremely good sausage gravy (with real sausage) and biscuits, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, waffles, etc. and was served in the old mansion, lovely and elegant. The coffee was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Address: 401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#1 Family Hotel in Lexington
#1 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.