We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arguably the best hotel in Lexington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Arguably the best hotel in Lexington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

As Lexington has grown the number of hotel options has also grown, and you can find most chains within a couple of miles of downtown. That's a good thing. However, the Hampton Inn Col Alto is one of the best. Clean, comfortable, bit of history tied to it. If you want to be close to town this is a good one. There are higher end inn in town, but according to some reviews they are getting a bit tired (not a personal observation). The Hampton Inn has been around seemingly forever but it is not tired or dated. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Hampton Inn is well known by W&L and VMI alums, parents, etc. so some weekends can be very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    138
    41
    14
    5
See reviews for
228
156
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Large room of excellent quality with two queen beds. Room equipped with ironing board with iron, hairdryer, and plenty of hooks and towel bars in the bathroom but no microwave or refrigerator. I would say our room and the workout room were the cleanest we have seen in a hotel/motel. Kudos to the management and cleaning staff. Loved the decor in the lobby and breakfast dining area. We only stayed overnight but would have liked to have had time to walk around the outdoor area as it looked almost park-like. Room cost is a bit more than average Hampton Inn but we felt it was well spent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed just one night, very nice and well appointed room with all the amenities expected of Hampton Inns. The lobby is in a historic building and is very cozy with several common areas for reading or just sitting. Breakfast was very good and consisted of eggs, bacon, potatoes, fruit, cereal, yogurt and more. The staff was very nice and helpful. Overall, one of the better Hampton inns we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't eat at the Don Tequila Mexican Restaurant just down the road from the Hampton, not very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My daughter just had her wedding reception her and the service was so personable. Almost all of our guests stayed here and they all spoke highly of the accomodations. My daughter and her new husband stayed in one of the historic rooms in the restored mansion. Of course, these 4 rooms are quite a bit more expensive but worth it when you want to really impress. Close walking distance to attractions in downtown Lexington. BTW, my wife and I stayed here more than a dozen times before we actually moved to this beautiful and scenic part of the Shenandoah valley.

Room Tip: Historic rooms are about $100 more per night but if the occasion is worth it... go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

i travel a lot the hampton in lexington, VA has to be 1 of best hampton i have ever stayed at.
1 best location u can walk to everything in town
2 staff very friendly
3 doesn't even look like hotel more like B&B

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bavaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you're not in the tiny historic wing, this is a large motel with decent wireless. It's a few blocks from the business district. The breakfast buffet has a waffle maker but is otherwise indistinct from the standard roadway inn fare. And the pricing is aggressive (high) for the genre.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Col Alto is an Estate House that was converted into a great hotel. The building has some guest rooms, and a nicely architected hotel was added to the back. As I parked and got out of the car, a staff member walked out on the porch to welcome me and ask if they could help. This is a wonderful hotel with beautiful grounds and attentive staff. The house is quite beautiful. The staff also provided great advice for dinner. The center of Lexington is a three block walk and is quite nice. Lexington is a wonderful town that is home to W&L and the VMI. You do not have the feeling that you are in a college town. We plan on staying at this hotel whenever we are in the area. Truly a gem.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and offered a great view of the estate house and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District

Address: 401 East Nelson Street, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Historic District
Lexington Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.