We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lodging with a gracious staff in a bucolic location just two minutes from Washington and Lee campus and VMI.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Lexington to your Saves list
Days Inn Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 West Midland Trail, I-81 Exit 188 B, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lexington
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent lodging with a gracious staff in a bucolic location just two minutes from Washington and Lee campus and VMI.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We always stay at this motel on our yearly visits to the Lexington area. The location is a perfect base for exploring the many local attractions and the staff is warm and friendly. We would happily recommend this motel to our friends. The location is convienient to the Washington and Lee University,VMI, and downtown Lexington. The Natural Bridge State Park is close by also. With the Natural Bridge Zoo and Virginia Safari Park nearby, one could happily spend a week vacation or just a long week-end in the area.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    59
    32
    45
    67
See reviews for
88
49
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

I recommend this hotel without reservation.
- cleanliness: room and bathroom were spotless. bathroom was really sparkling. I think some previous reviewers have confused things being old and slightly worn with them being unkempt. not true. everytime i have stayed here this place has been sanitary and squared away.
-service: Anil has been at this a long time and this hotel is is family business. I had no problems on my stay, but he seems like the kind of guy that would go out of his was to make you happy if something is wrong. definitely more run like a B&B than a large chain hotel.
-location: I can't give it five stars because it's not right in town and thus not in walking distance to anything. (but remember you are paying a lot less than those places also). The plus side is that it is the single closest hotel to the W&L athetic fields, and is really the only hotel on the west side of town. Thus getting in and out of town on the very short 2 mi. drive is really easy. no stop lights, no traffic, no brainer.
-rooms: yes, as some reviewers have pointed out, they're getting a bit shabby. Well, maybe you live in one of these fancy new subdevelopments in big new 4,000 square foot house and are underwater in your mortgage too. Yeah, they're getting a bit aged, but there's absolutely nothing wrong with them. If you are hanging out in your hotel room in Lexington, there is something wrong with you, so get over it.
-sleep quality: very good construction of the hotel since it was built some time ago, and i have generally found it quieter internally than most other newly-built budget chains. However, as with any outside-door, ground floor hotels, you do get car doors and trucks slamming first thing in the morning when everyone gets moving. the mattresses probably need an upgrade sometime soon, but they aren't really any worse than the inexpensive brand new mattresses at brand new discount hotels.
-VALUE: there is no better hotel in Lexington in this category. Very clean, Very close to town, and convenient, and a manager that is willing to please. Oh, yeah, and free breakfast. So long as you don't demand to stay at a brand new shiny hotel, this place is great.

**NOTE: Pricing in Lexington varies wildly depending on horse center events, and University events at W&L and VMI. On these weekeds, this place might get bid up to $150 and night, but then again the Hampton Inn will be probably $225 a night on those weekends, so try to evaluate the pricing in context of the time you are visiting and current events. It is tough to stomach paying $175 a night at ANY days in, but at least you have a place to lay your head!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, ga
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Scenic location conveniently located but away from traffic- Liked the room division and the staff was most accommodating- Great value!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

The room was large enough and would probably qualify as a suite at some chains. It was very clean but woefully in need of sprucing up. Although the bathroom had been remodeled, there were two shades of pink paint on the woodwork and the bathroom door, and wallpaper was peeling off at one spot by the air conditioner/heater. Front desk staff was efficient. Too bad the frosted doughnuts had been refrigerated, since that makes the frosting runny and makes the doughnuts tough. The setting is very scenic. For a night or two, this is OK.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

I booked a room with two beds at this motel on line for one night at a price of $166.00 for two people. I don't know where the $98.00 price went. When I arrived with my daughter the manager tried to put us in a room with a king. I said "No, I booked for two beds and that is what I need". So she gave us a room at the back of the motel that was completely unacceptable for the price we paid. As others have said, the torn and mismatched chairs outside each room gave it a real creepy atmosphere. When we walked in, you couldn't get the door open easily and it wouldn't close tightly. The screen on the window was hanging and the ac/heater unit had become unattached from the wall. The air freshner over a musty smell was obvious. There was hair in the bathroom. The woodwork by the door looked as though a dog had scratched all the paint off. We figured that this was probably one of the rooms where people traveling with dogs stayed. So my daughter and I were pretty creeped out and went back to the desk to tell the manager that our room was unacceptable. All of a sudden she had a different room available that was "much better". While it was a little bigger and had a small refrigerator sitting on top of the TV it still had same smell. We opted to leave for a great room at the Hampton Inn in Lexington.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I booked a room at this hotel because of the high number of positive reviews, however my experience was not a positive one. The first tip-off of what was to come were the filthy chairs outside of the guest rooms. My room was dirty, the carpet was stained, there were cobwebs in the corners and the carpet had not been vacuumed since the last guest.. The sheets and pillowcases were stained and I could feel the boxspring through the worn mattress. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-VMI, Manager at Days Inn Lexington, responded to this review, November 3, 2009
Thank you for your comment expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at the Days Inn.We sincerely apologize for the substandard condition of your room. At
Days Inn, we take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness.
Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards.
My hope is that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.
Please contact me directly to discuss your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

This motel on Midland Trail appeared nice enough as we drove up, and quite charming with the yellow painted, exterior-corridor building with patios for each room. There are two buildings at this motel, a somewhat charming yellow-painted one with exterior room doors attached to the registration area and a separate, very dated "Shenandoah" building with an interior corridor, which is located behind the 'charming' building. Unfortunately, our room was in the Shenandoah buidling.

Posted at the entrance to the Shenandoah building and the registration area were lots of paper signs warning of $100 fines for smoking, pets, and unauthorized visitors in rooms. Upon entering the building, the smell of air freshener overpowered us. It was fighting a losing battle to mask a very strong musty/mildew odor. The carpet in the hallway and the room was stained and worn. The room was very dark and appeared not to have been updated since the 1970's. It had inadequate lighting (which was, frankly, a blessing) and dark wallpaper. The dark blue semi-plush carpet was matted in high traffic areas, the upholstered chairs were very stained and had holes in the upholstery. The refrigerator not only didn't work, but smelled terrible. The ceilings had waterstains in spots and had been poorly patched and painted in other spots. The room smelled very musty and dusty. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling. The walls were also quite thin. We could hear the details of the nocturnal activities of our neighbors.

On the bright side, the room was quite large and the water pressure in the shower was strong and refreshing. The motel was conveniently located near downtown Lexington.

The positive reviews of this place appear to result from guests lucky enough to stay in rooms in the yellow, main building. As I walked to check out in the morning, I peeked in one of those rooms as it was being cleaned. It was more recently updated, with typical, commercial-grade motel carpeting, more modern furniture and better lighting.

I would recommend against a stay in the Shenandoah building of this motel, but might consider a stay in the main building.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lexington

Address: 325 West Midland Trail, I-81 Exit 188 B, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.