We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but tattered” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Days Inn Lexington to your Saves list
Days Inn Lexington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 West Midland Trail, I-81 Exit 188 B, Lexington, VA 24450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% Summer Sale
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean but tattered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

The room was large enough and would probably qualify as a suite at some chains. It was very clean but woefully in need of sprucing up. Although the bathroom had been remodeled, there were two shades of pink paint on the woodwork and the bathroom door, and wallpaper was peeling off at one spot by the air conditioner/heater. Front desk staff was efficient. Too bad the frosted doughnuts had been refrigerated, since that makes the frosting runny and makes the doughnuts tough. The setting is very scenic. For a night or two, this is OK.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    59
    33
    47
    71
See reviews for
89
52
42
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

I booked a room with two beds at this motel on line for one night at a price of $166.00 for two people. I don't know where the $98.00 price went. When I arrived with my daughter the manager tried to put us in a room with a king. I said "No, I booked for two beds and that is what I need". So she gave us a room at the back of the motel that was completely unacceptable for the price we paid. As others have said, the torn and mismatched chairs outside each room gave it a real creepy atmosphere. When we walked in, you couldn't get the door open easily and it wouldn't close tightly. The screen on the window was hanging and the ac/heater unit had become unattached from the wall. The air freshner over a musty smell was obvious. There was hair in the bathroom. The woodwork by the door looked as though a dog had scratched all the paint off. We figured that this was probably one of the rooms where people traveling with dogs stayed. So my daughter and I were pretty creeped out and went back to the desk to tell the manager that our room was unacceptable. All of a sudden she had a different room available that was "much better". While it was a little bigger and had a small refrigerator sitting on top of the TV it still had same smell. We opted to leave for a great room at the Hampton Inn in Lexington.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I booked a room at this hotel because of the high number of positive reviews, however my experience was not a positive one. The first tip-off of what was to come were the filthy chairs outside of the guest rooms. My room was dirty, the carpet was stained, there were cobwebs in the corners and the carpet had not been vacuumed since the last guest.. The sheets and pillowcases were stained and I could feel the boxspring through the worn mattress. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-VMI, Manager at Days Inn Lexington, responded to this review, November 3, 2009
Thank you for your comment expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at the Days Inn.We sincerely apologize for the substandard condition of your room. At
Days Inn, we take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness.
Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards.
My hope is that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.
Please contact me directly to discuss your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

This motel on Midland Trail appeared nice enough as we drove up, and quite charming with the yellow painted, exterior-corridor building with patios for each room. There are two buildings at this motel, a somewhat charming yellow-painted one with exterior room doors attached to the registration area and a separate, very dated "Shenandoah" building with an interior corridor, which is located behind the 'charming' building. Unfortunately, our room was in the Shenandoah buidling.

Posted at the entrance to the Shenandoah building and the registration area were lots of paper signs warning of $100 fines for smoking, pets, and unauthorized visitors in rooms. Upon entering the building, the smell of air freshener overpowered us. It was fighting a losing battle to mask a very strong musty/mildew odor. The carpet in the hallway and the room was stained and worn. The room was very dark and appeared not to have been updated since the 1970's. It had inadequate lighting (which was, frankly, a blessing) and dark wallpaper. The dark blue semi-plush carpet was matted in high traffic areas, the upholstered chairs were very stained and had holes in the upholstery. The refrigerator not only didn't work, but smelled terrible. The ceilings had waterstains in spots and had been poorly patched and painted in other spots. The room smelled very musty and dusty. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling. The walls were also quite thin. We could hear the details of the nocturnal activities of our neighbors.

On the bright side, the room was quite large and the water pressure in the shower was strong and refreshing. The motel was conveniently located near downtown Lexington.

The positive reviews of this place appear to result from guests lucky enough to stay in rooms in the yellow, main building. As I walked to check out in the morning, I peeked in one of those rooms as it was being cleaned. It was more recently updated, with typical, commercial-grade motel carpeting, more modern furniture and better lighting.

I would recommend against a stay in the Shenandoah building of this motel, but might consider a stay in the main building.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

I truly do not understand the good reviews on this website. I booked this motel online. When I arrived, both my partner and I went in to get the key. The rooms was dirty, the bed was hard, the room smelled like cigarette smoke, and the pillows were flat. There is old used dirty mis-matched plastic furniture scattered around outside. When we left, the manager Anil Brahmbhatt claims that my boyfriend was an un-registered guest, and tried to charge me over $100 for having an un-registered guest in the room. The room rate was $58.50 + $6.44 a night. I eventually bartered with the manager and paid an additional $10. I feel that I was cheated, and manipulated. Please be aware of additional fees (for no reason), and of scams.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Falls
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We have been coming to the Days Inn in Lexington for four years for parents weekend and visits. We have always stayed here and have to say we are very pleased with the service. The owners and staff were always friendly, kind, and helpful. They were always eager to accommodated our every need.

The motel was well maintained and gave us quick access to Washington & Lee University since it is only 1 mile from W&L and VMI. We felt very comfortable. This Days Inn has a comfortable homelike atmosphere with a great continental breakfast! The view from the top of the hill where the motel is located has a marvelous breathtaking view of the surrounding area. Its a must see. Oh, and the room prices are very reasonable!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We booked 2 rooms for 1 night over Labor Day weekend. It is an older motel with exterior corridors in a very quiet area of Lexington. The rooms looked very clean. The rooms do need some remodeling as there appeared to be water damage behind one of the beds. There was no bad odors in the rooms. The bathrooms looked well kept and the showers had an adjustable shower head. There are no refrigerators or microwaves in the room. The continental breakfast consisted of bread, bagels, sweets, coffee, juice. My only complaint is the beds. The mattresses are cheap, hard as a rock, and well used. There was a cigarette burn on the bedspread. Overall, I still think we got a great deal for the rooms and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
BEST WESTERN Lexington Inn
#4 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Hunt Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington - Historic District
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center
2.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lexington

Address: 325 West Midland Trail, I-81 Exit 188 B, Lexington, VA 24450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Lexington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Lexington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.