We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“huge tasting portions!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Michel Winery

Prince Michel Winery
154 Winery Lane, Leon, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Leon
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“huge tasting portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

some places give you a little taste, but for $5 they gave huge portions of wine. you will definitely get a good buzz after stopping by here. we also enjoyed the little self-guided tour of the winery and learning a bit about how its made. many wineries skip over that part. very nice places to sit outside and relax too

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dulles, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The Best friendly and fun Winery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and U decided to take the long 1 1/2 hr drive to Leon, Va and relax at Prince Michel this past Saturday.
With 70 degrees it was perfect!
The tasting room was already full at 1 pm. Immediately we were welcomed by our favorite pourer( Sue ) she is always so friendly and a lot fun.
To our left a group of about six were having a lot fun!!
We did our tasting and got a bottle of white, since it was warm out, and food to enjoy outdoor on the patio .
We been going to Prince Michel for many years. You can't beat the friendliness of this winery.
We always recommend this winery! They also have a great wine club, with several options to choose from, depending on what you like. Not all wineries give you several options.
That's another reason we like Prince Michel vineyard!
The owner, Kristin is awesome, very easy to talk to and outgoing , and we live to stay in one of the suites on the property, she has four of them and very nicely decorated with a French flair !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Prince Michel has quickly devolved under its current ownership. The wines (if you can call them that) are laughable. I suspect most of the juice used comes from out of state and is only blended with a small amount of actual Virginia wine. The gift shop is full of overpriced junk from China and if you purchase a snack, BEWARE...I purchased some Amish cheese and crackers and the young man behind the counter gave me a rusted knife and a plate with a mouse dropping on it. Needless to say, I do not recommend this winery to anyone and I will certainly never return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very beautiful site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We got here early (we thought) but there were wine enthusiasts already leaving as we arrived. The tasting was VERY affordable at $5.00 for quite a few samples. The best part is the self guided tour after, we really enjoyed this as well as having a great chat with Ryan who had all the answers to our questions on the wine process. The location is right off the highway with lots of sumptuous areas to relax and enjoy that chosen glass of wine after the tasting. This was probably my favorite vineyard in the area (but see my Wisteria farms review, very different and just as good). Prince Michel has the glam factor without being too commercial. Must experience!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Last night we attended a 50s "Sock Hop" at the winery. The ONLY disappointment was there were so few people there. They had a DJ, great wine with generous pours, and good food provided by a local vendor. It was a free event so pay a little for wine, very little for food, dance and have a great time, basically a dream Friday night date. If you have not attended an event here it should definitely be on your short list of places to go. Traffic was a pain, but still only about an hour from Fairfax. FYI stop even if there is no event, the wines are very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince Michel Winery also viewed

Been to Prince Michel Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Michel Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.