We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time, great wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Michel Winery

Prince Michel Winery
154 Winery Lane, Leon, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Leon
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun time, great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of the first vineyards you come to traveling south on Rt 29 from Northern Va/DC to Charlottesville, Va. The staff is very accommodating and well informed. They have a self guided tour of their production facilities which is very interesting. Very good wines,and a very welcoming visitor center. All in all, it was a pleasant experience, very recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect tasting experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Yup, $5 to sample 10 Virginia wines is a BARGAIN, especially when the staff is friendly and knowledgeable and the wines are YUMMY! We took our time and did not feel rushed at all. Actually bought several bottles, which is a first for us! We look forward to stopping back by on our way down south on highway 29 in the future to restock on our favorites.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sound Beach, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wine was not the best. Beautiful grounds!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We loved the grounds and the staff was very friendly. My mother and I did not care for the wines however. The girl next to us loved them. We found them to be too young tasting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Enjoy a full-wine tasting at a local Virginia winery for only $5!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hard to believe, but true...sample 10 wines for $5 per person...all locally grown as well! There's also a self-guided tour of the winery (as well as guided tours available) and there's a small on-site bistro for snacks and a little wine if you're just passing through. If you want to learn about winemaking and sample a variety of types, this is a great and easy place to do it! The staff is friendly and knowledgeable as well. The wine gift shop is a must for any wine lover.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons Falls, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“FUN and Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We are members of this winery for a reason, WE LOVE IT! The wines are very good and we keep trying to get them distributed down to Florida! It is crazy why no-one would want this in Florida - but they haven't tried it yet, just WAIT! It doesn't matter since they do ship it to me quarterly, which sometimes isn't enough so I have to order more! Yes More! The different blends and wines are really very good and should be experienced at the winery first so you can also experience the staff. They are great! They make the tasting experience fun and you also learn alot about the wines. Go ahead, ask them what wine they would pair Nacho Cheese Doritos with, truly! They can tell you the best wine to go with just about anything! If you get a chance GO! If you don't - too bad for you, you are missing out!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince Michel Winery also viewed

Been to Prince Michel Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Michel Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.