We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Above Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Not Your Average Joe's

Not Your Average Joe's
19307 Promenade Dr, Landsdowne Center, Leesburg, VA 20176
571-333-5637
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Not Your Average Joe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 168 restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: What does creative casual cuisine mean? Exactly what it says. We're creative, because we reject the same-old-same-old in favor of tastes that are interesting and unique. We're casual because while our food may be worth getting dressed up for, we invite you to come as you are. We're all about cuisine in the sense that our chefs apply high standards of culinary art. There it is. Creative. Casual. Cuisine. If it sounds like your kind of place, then you – like us- are not your average Joe.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Definitely Above Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Food is delicious & they run monthly special menus so there is always variety. A Gluten Free Menu is available upon request. The "Mocktails" are fun for the kids and for the grown ups there is a wide range of options for wine, beer and specialty drinks. The complimentary homemade bread with olive oil, red pepper flakes & Parmesan is scrumptious, beware not to fill up on it. We've frequented this Joe's for over a year, it consistently delivers great service and food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    35
    54
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“if you're in Leesburg, you must eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

what hooked me on trying this rrestaurant was their gluten free menu and attitude that its an easy accomodation. its A Wednesday nite and every table was filled by 7:30. theres a great vibe, very good service, and excellent food. i highly recommend the scallops skewered on rosemary with butternut squash and bacon. the scallops were tender and tasty with a slightly sweetsauce with just a subtle kick. my friend had the ahi tuna salad. the tuna was cooked as ordered. the dressng is sweet so you might want to ask for it on the side. good beer and wine selection.try joe's. you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Gluten Free Consciousness, and April Wine Sale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was very close to giving this restaurant a three-star "average" rating, because the food was just OK. My Vietnamese salmon, an interesting recipe, tasted a little pre-prepared, not fresh. My wife's fish was better. But her dish, and mine, were overly salty. I bumped my rating to four "not-your-average" stars for a couple of reasons. This restaurant has a true Gluten-Free consciousness with a number of creative choices. As GF diners (my wife by necessity), we felt safe here. The customer service is first rate. We loved our personable waitress, Kit, although it seems the policy here is for the wait staff to linger a long time over tables and chat up customers. That can be great. But it also can also wander into annoyance when you want to eat your food. Finally, there's the fabulous April 20-for-$20 wine bottle sale (along with the $10/glass offerings of higher-quality, highly rated wines). What a great idea, especially for those of us wine lovers who bristle when restaurants try to vastly over-charge us for wines we know are much less expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, NC
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“One of our Lansdowne (Leesburg) favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have been to Joes several times on our visits to Lansdowne. Last night we went at 6:30 and there was a wait. That was our first time to have to wait, but it was dinner time!
I have tried their pizza, which was very good,and last night I had Not Your Average Meatloaf. VERY GOOD! Every thing we have had there has been tasty and we have been very happy.
The service has been consistently good there and last night was no exception.

My only complaint from last night is the noise level. We could barely hear each other. It was very crowded, so that was understandable.
Not a great place for a romantic dinner or for friends trying to catch up at dinner time. Maybe later in the evening after the crowd thins out would be better...
All in all we love Not Your Average Joes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Food and cocktails are both tasty. My favorite is the Jambalya made with linguica. Not traditional, but oh so good! If you're not too hungry, don't start off with the bread. You can't just one! I suggest having your server bring it with your meal. The one meal I've had that I didn't care for was their veggie burger. It's a bit too thick and mushy.
Dining is casual and the staff is friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Not Your Average Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.