We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ridge Grill

Blue Ridge Grill
955 Edwards Ferry Rd., Leesburg, VA 20176
703.669.5505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 160 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations
Germantown Maryland
Level Contributor
228 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We went to the Blue Ridge Grill today for an early dinner after visiting the outlets. Fortunately at 4:45 we were seated right away. The place is nice, very tradtional looking. Wait staff was attentive and the food was good. We had the Lobster Bisque first, $4.50 a bowl very reasonable and very good. Rich to sum it up in one word. The bread they gave us had a nice crust and was chewy. For dinner I had the crab cakes which were tasty, excellent fries and a very good cole slaw. My wife had the filet mignon and it was cooked correctly and was very good. I am happy with the choice we made which was determined by reading trip advisor!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    128
    31
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, service, and value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The BRG, oddly situated among a farm supply store, a busy city bypass, a fast food chain restaurant, and a tire shop, manages to go way beyond its humble surroundings to serve some really good food.

We seem drawn addictively to their roasted prime rib, and this visit was no exception. Well seasoned and slow roasted, a 12 oz. cut is generously filling, with a moist, flavorful loaded baked potato. A starter mixed greens salad was fresh and lightly coated with a delightful citrus dressing that contrasted well with sweet fresh mango bits. Service was (and consistently is) excellent just enough attention to keep our drinks refilled and empty plates cleared. One small, yet appreciated approach is that the food is delivered from the kitchen by a separate server. This subtle staffing strategy keeps the food moving when wait staff are busy. Like any place, some dishes are better here than others, as some reviews have shown. Consistently, I prefer the prime rib, the BBQ ribs, the crabcakes (not the sauce), and some of the fresh fish specials when these are not buried by a heavy sauce.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Food Will Never Disappoint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I have dined here on several occasions (lunch, early evening and even weekends) and the most important thing to remember is that the food is always good. On average, the service is good (although a few of the bartenders have gotten low grades from me for not being very friendly). No matter, I will continue coming back because the food is consistently good. I highly recommend the guacamole appetizer (not on the menu?), but wish they would not put cilantro in it (yuk!), and the burgers make you feel like you dropped right in to burger heaven.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best in Loudoun County....consistently”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our go-to place when we want great food. Service is Excellent! Great atmosphere. Don't be fooled by the location (behind McDonalds, Sheetz, and The Tire Shop). Once you step in it's a different world. You can tell by the wait that the food is great. Try the smoked salmon app.. The burgers are homemade.
Give it a try...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Blue Ridge Nearly Has It All, But Just Misses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We really do like the Blue Ridge Grill. They fit in that perfect spot between the sit-down chains like TGIF or Ruby Tuesday and the overly expensive white table cloth stuffy places. Family friendly, great service, great bar selections, and an eclectic menu to fit a wide range of tastes. Having said all that, we've had a couple of misses at BRG. If it was only once, I'd just let it slide - but the last couple of times my favorite Lobster Bisque was served barely luke warm. Soup should be hot, lawsuits be damned. But they're not getting close to hot these days. Next up, my favorite BRG Crab Cakes! I did the standard fries, slaw, and cakes plate. I don't know how they did it, but the slaw was cool and crisp, the fries were hot, crisp on the outside, soft on the inside...and my crab cakes were barely warm. We'll try them again and again - I'm not the type to send food back - but I won't settle for 'nearly warm' food next time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ridge Grill also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Blue Ridge Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ridge Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.