We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COTTAGE STYLE HOME” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marshall House

The Marshall House
217 Edwards Ferry Road, Leesburg, VA 20176
+1 703-777-1301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 69 things to do in Leesburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Marshall House (formerly Dodona Manor), is situated on 3.8 acres of gardens on the eastern end of Leesburg's Old and Historic District. The site is designated a National Historic Landmark as the residence of General George C. Marshall from 1941 until 1959. During his residency in the home, General Marshall served our nation as Chief of Staff of the Army, as Special Envoy to China, as Secretary of State, as President of the American Red Cross, and as Secretary of Defense. His career as a military officer spanned 44 years, including distinguished service in two world wars. General Marshall was the architect of the European Recovery Plan (The Marshall Plan), and was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1953. General Marshall was described as the "Greatest American of the twentieth century" by both Franklin Roosevelt and Winston Churchill.
Herminie
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“COTTAGE STYLE HOME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you review the website you can see this was a modest style home. They've done a bang-up job trying to make it interesting. I will say the tour was overly long (2 hours). I still enjoyed my visit. One other complaint, though, we arrived at opening time and they were not ready for us and kept us waiting several mintues before letting us in. When we went to watch the video some young chick was in there before us (I believe she knew someone) but it is still worth the visit especially if your plan is to be stroll around Leesburg since it sits right in the historic section. Happy touring.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
815 reviews
639 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Lovely Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was surprised to discover this little gem just down the road from where I lived. It may have been a rainy day, but this place was truly delightful and nicely restored. The tour started with a very informative 15 minute video and then one of the docents gave us information about the house and the General (usually done outside in the gardens, but we couldn't due to the weather). Then there is a tour throughout the house. The unique thing about this home is that the foundation bought it from the General's family, getting most of the furniture and being told exactly where everything should be placed from their memories. True, some of the knick-knacks and smaller items are donations (the family kept those items). Please go if you are in the Leesburg area. It is worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful insight into Marshall's personal life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very nicely kept up home of historic figure general George Marshall, builder of the ERP, former secretary of state and defense. Gives you great insight into his and his second wife's personal life from the time after WWII, dining room, bedrooms (even one that Madam Chiang Kay Check was using when visiting), great kitchen, large garden etc. Many historic documents to be seen on walls - a great trip in time!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great history with a terrific tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We found the tour of George C Marshall's house just terrific. We got a very interesting review of history and learned many things about Gen Marshall's life that we did not know. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and seeing the many fascinating pieces of memorabilia was great. We got to see paintings drawn by Churchill and Eisenhower for Marshall. The house is 90% true to the Marshalls. For anyone interested in history this is a very worthwhile visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“George Marshalls Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you come to Leesburg, do take some time to visit Dodona Manor, home to George C. Marshall following his retirement from active service. General of the Army, architect of the American contribution to WWII, Secretary of State and father of the Marshall Plan to rebuild post war Europe. If you have any interests in the above topics, you need to visit. Wonderfully restored and maintained.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marshall House also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marshall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.