We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hot & Blue

Red Hot & Blue
541 E Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176-4113
703-669-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 178 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Barbecue, Bar, Chicken Wings, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Description: Red Hot and Blue is a full-service, casual-themed restaurant chain and caterer featuring delicious award-winning ribs, Memphis-style barbeque, smoked wings, and Southern sides and desserts. The atmosphere is steeped in legendary and contemporary blues music and delivers a large dose of Southern hospitality in a fun and entertaining dining environment. History: The first Red Hot and Blue restaurant opened in Arlington, Virginia in 1988, started by Lee Atwater, Don Sundquist and friends. Don Sundquist was from Memphis and served in the House of Representatives and as governor of Tennessee. The late Lee Atwater was an amateur blues musician and political figure that managed George H.W. Bush's successful race for the presidency. These men were friends who longed for authentic Memphis-style barbeque and great blues music. Unable to find that combination anywhere in the Washington, DC area they decided the only way to get it done was to open a restaurant of their own. The Memphis-style barbeque chain celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2013 by partnering with a charitable organization at 24 different restaurant locations. The yearlong celebration culminated in the presentation of thousands of dollars in donations to local charities. The Name: The name, "Red Hot and Blue" is taken from the title of D.J. Dewey Phillip's radio show that that aired on WHBQ-AM in Memphis, Tennessee in the 1950s. This radio show launched the careers of Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis and Johnny Cash and broadened the audience for artists such as BB King, Muddy Waters, Robert Cray and Rufus Thomas. Red Hot & Blue Dine-In, Take-Out and Catering. Hickory-smoked Memphis-style BBQ, Ribs, Wings, Beef Brisket, Smoked Chicken, Seafood, Full-service Bar, in a Family-friendly atmosphere with a heapin' helpin' of Southern Hospitality!
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Having been here on several occasions in the past years, I have noticed that this particular location of the popular Red, Hot and Blue chain is slowly going down hill. During our last visit this was very clear, Staff did not seem to be willing to seat us of wait on us. It took forever before our drinks were served. The traditionally nice pulled pork sandwich was bad beyond belief and the burger tasted it had been in the freezer too long. Giving this last experience it is unlikely I'll be back here anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hot & Blue, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I'm so sorry you didn't have a good experience last time you visited us! We promise to use your feedback to improve. If you have any further questions or comments, please reach out to us at slaurence (at) rhbri (dot) com. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    18
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We are from the Midwest and have never been to this chain before. The BBQ and the service were good from a friendly waitress. We were there for a late lunch and they were not very busy at the time. I have been to exceptional BBQ places in Memphis and Nashville, and this is not at that level, but is still very good. We had pulled pork, brisket, and ribs. We would definitely eat at this restaurant again if we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Typical Red Hot &Blue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped here around 4 pm on a Sat. There were only 2 other couples in the place. We got the pulled pork sandwich with sweet potato fries. Food was good. Service was quick and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Can't go to VA and not go to Red Hot & Blue~!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The food is so good especially the pulled pork sandwich, potato salad, baked beans and the onion appetizer. The ribs are just so-so. You get a lot of food for the price! Nice atmosphere. The service has always been good too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie98
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ribs were dry and overlooked and so dry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had been to here 2 years ago and had the ribs. They were good then. This time they must have been left over from lunch as they were dry and you could tell they were old and had been reheated.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hot & Blue also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Hot & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hot & Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.