We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs were dry and overlooked and so dry” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hot & Blue

Red Hot & Blue
541 E Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176-4113
703-669-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 168 restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Red Hot & Blue is celebrating 25 years of good food, southern hospitality, and blues! Spend the night out (take the night off?) with a heapin' plate of our award-winnin' Memphis-style ribs -- cooked and smoked to perfection, with a helpin' of Grandma's Homemade Potato Salad while listening to the cool blues. Our signature ribs, pulled pork, and beef brisket are cooked low and slow - guaranteed to be fall-off-the-bone delicious. Busy days can be complemented with our Take-Out, served with our signature Southern hospitality and a smile. Call it in, pick it up, and enjoy, all in the comfort of your own home. Planning a big event? From a fancy wedding to a backyard barbeque, parties of 200 to 2, Red Hot & Blue can offer the best. We provide full service and deluxe catering options; let us do all the cookin' for you, so you can sit back, relax, and enjoy some ol' southern barbeque. Our heapin' portions will have your party stuffed full of delicious slow-smoked meats of your choosing. If you're hungry for barbeque, you're hungry for Red Hot & Blue.
Debbie98
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ribs were dry and overlooked and so dry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had been to here 2 years ago and had the ribs. They were good then. This time they must have been left over from lunch as they were dry and you could tell they were old and had been reheated.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    15
    16
    16
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Decent BBQ and so-so service. There are better BBQ places just down the road, but if you're afraid to try something new, Red Hot & Blue isn't bad.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very average - trending down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Has always been consistently average - both food and service. We used to go a lot, but not anymore. Seems like it is starting to go downhill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Consistently consistent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I usually eat here once every other week. She works a varied work schedule so it may be for lunch or for dinner so we'll usually have a different shift serving us.

Whether we have lunch or dinner though, the food is consistently good. The salads are always fresh and large portioned. The sandwiches and platters are heaping and the barbecue, chicken and brisket is always cooked very well.

The only thing I've ever ordered and been slightly disappointed in is the grilled chicken sandwich. It seemed very plain and bland. But, it's not what RH&B is known for so I'm not complaining too much.

Otherwise, we have always been pleasantly greeted, promptly served and given service with a smile, no matter the time of day we arrive. There are plenty of places to choose from in Leesburg to spend money on meals. Even though this is a chain, it is well-managed, with a great serving and kitchen staff and worth the money if you're wanting a great meal at a great value.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty good BBQ! Neat laid back atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We eat here every so often. They cater for our church dinners as well. They have pretty good BBQ. They have great fried Okra and Brunswick Stew. Their coleslaw is pretty gross though unless you like it extremely bland. This is a family friendly restaurant with a cool laid back atmosphere. Why not give it a try?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hot & Blue also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County

Been to Red Hot & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hot & Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.