We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average - trending down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hot & Blue

Red Hot & Blue
541 E Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176-4113
703-669-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 169 restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Red Hot & Blue is celebrating 25 years of good food, southern hospitality, and blues! Spend the night out (take the night off?) with a heapin' plate of our award-winnin' Memphis-style ribs -- cooked and smoked to perfection, with a helpin' of Grandma's Homemade Potato Salad while listening to the cool blues. Our signature ribs, pulled pork, and beef brisket are cooked low and slow - guaranteed to be fall-off-the-bone delicious. Busy days can be complemented with our Take-Out, served with our signature Southern hospitality and a smile. Call it in, pick it up, and enjoy, all in the comfort of your own home. Planning a big event? From a fancy wedding to a backyard barbeque, parties of 200 to 2, Red Hot & Blue can offer the best. We provide full service and deluxe catering options; let us do all the cookin' for you, so you can sit back, relax, and enjoy some ol' southern barbeque. Our heapin' portions will have your party stuffed full of delicious slow-smoked meats of your choosing. If you're hungry for barbeque, you're hungry for Red Hot & Blue.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very average - trending down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Has always been consistently average - both food and service. We used to go a lot, but not anymore. Seems like it is starting to go downhill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    15
    16
    16
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Consistently consistent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I usually eat here once every other week. She works a varied work schedule so it may be for lunch or for dinner so we'll usually have a different shift serving us.

Whether we have lunch or dinner though, the food is consistently good. The salads are always fresh and large portioned. The sandwiches and platters are heaping and the barbecue, chicken and brisket is always cooked very well.

The only thing I've ever ordered and been slightly disappointed in is the grilled chicken sandwich. It seemed very plain and bland. But, it's not what RH&B is known for so I'm not complaining too much.

Otherwise, we have always been pleasantly greeted, promptly served and given service with a smile, no matter the time of day we arrive. There are plenty of places to choose from in Leesburg to spend money on meals. Even though this is a chain, it is well-managed, with a great serving and kitchen staff and worth the money if you're wanting a great meal at a great value.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good BBQ! Neat laid back atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We eat here every so often. They cater for our church dinners as well. They have pretty good BBQ. They have great fried Okra and Brunswick Stew. Their coleslaw is pretty gross though unless you like it extremely bland. This is a family friendly restaurant with a cool laid back atmosphere. Why not give it a try?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling, va
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Foord and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Red Hot and Blue in Leesburg Virginia is very good. The food was tasty and service very good. I got the seafood sampler with catfish and shrimp. Everything was freshly made and tasted very good. My wife got a pulled pork sandwich and she said it was excellent. My wife is doing Weight Watchers and she asked if they had nutritional guide so she could count her points. The waitress said she would check and she came back with a full print out of everything they had with the nutrional information. Now that's great service! This is a place we will go back to and enjoy it very much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a good Red Hot and Blue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I usually enjoy RH&B restaurants but this particular one is very dissappointing. EVERY time I have been there I have been subject to vacuuming right by my table. The service is miserable and the food is ordinary. I live just in town a few blocks away and have tired this place for lunch and dinner on several different occaisions and am always unhappy when I leave.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hot & Blue, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Margaret, please accept our apology that your recent experiences haven't been satifying. We promise to use your feedback to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hot & Blue also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Red Hot & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hot & Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.