We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good BBQ! Neat laid back atmosphere.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hot & Blue

Red Hot & Blue
541 E Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176-4113
703-669-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 170 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Barbecue, Bar, Chicken Wings, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Description: Red Hot and Blue is a full-service, casual-themed restaurant chain and caterer featuring delicious award-winning ribs, Memphis-style barbeque, smoked wings, and Southern sides and desserts. The atmosphere is steeped in legendary and contemporary blues music and delivers a large dose of Southern hospitality in a fun and entertaining dining environment. History: The first Red Hot and Blue restaurant opened in Arlington, Virginia in 1988, started by Lee Atwater, Don Sundquist and friends. Don Sundquist was from Memphis and served in the House of Representatives and as governor of Tennessee. The late Lee Atwater was an amateur blues musician and political figure that managed George H.W. Bush's successful race for the presidency. These men were friends who longed for authentic Memphis-style barbeque and great blues music. Unable to find that combination anywhere in the Washington, DC area they decided the only way to get it done was to open a restaurant of their own. The Memphis-style barbeque chain celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2013 by partnering with a charitable organization at 24 different restaurant locations. The yearlong celebration culminated in the presentation of thousands of dollars in donations to local charities. The Name: The name, "Red Hot and Blue" is taken from the title of D.J. Dewey Phillip's radio show that that aired on WHBQ-AM in Memphis, Tennessee in the 1950s. This radio show launched the careers of Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis and Johnny Cash and broadened the audience for artists such as BB King, Muddy Waters, Robert Cray and Rufus Thomas. Red Hot & Blue Dine-In, Take-Out and Catering. Hickory-smoked Memphis-style BBQ, Ribs, Wings, Beef Brisket, Smoked Chicken, Seafood, Full-service Bar, in a Family-friendly atmosphere with a heapin' helpin' of Southern Hospitality!
Lovettsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good BBQ! Neat laid back atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We eat here every so often. They cater for our church dinners as well. They have pretty good BBQ. They have great fried Okra and Brunswick Stew. Their coleslaw is pretty gross though unless you like it extremely bland. This is a family friendly restaurant with a cool laid back atmosphere. Why not give it a try?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    17
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sterling, va
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Foord and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Red Hot and Blue in Leesburg Virginia is very good. The food was tasty and service very good. I got the seafood sampler with catfish and shrimp. Everything was freshly made and tasted very good. My wife got a pulled pork sandwich and she said it was excellent. My wife is doing Weight Watchers and she asked if they had nutritional guide so she could count her points. The waitress said she would check and she came back with a full print out of everything they had with the nutrional information. Now that's great service! This is a place we will go back to and enjoy it very much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a good Red Hot and Blue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I usually enjoy RH&B restaurants but this particular one is very dissappointing. EVERY time I have been there I have been subject to vacuuming right by my table. The service is miserable and the food is ordinary. I live just in town a few blocks away and have tired this place for lunch and dinner on several different occaisions and am always unhappy when I leave.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hot & Blue, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Margaret, please accept our apology that your recent experiences haven't been satifying. We promise to use your feedback to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We walked into the restaurant just as two employees passed by without greeting us or offering to seat us at a table. We were waiting for a few minutes to be seated, but nobody came to assist us. The place was completely empty, which is never a good sign on a Saturday afternoon. 3-4 waitresses were gathered together chatting with the bar-woman, too preoccupied to notice that customers were waiting by the entrance. We walked to them, interrupting the chatting and we were finally seated at a table.

I ordered pulled pork platter, and it was brought very quickly.

The presentation was good, but the food was disappointing. The meat was dry, cold and completely tasteless, with a spoonful of warm BBQ sauce on top of it. One scoop of so-so potato salad and a small serving of beans fresh out of a can of Bush's Baked Beans. There are much better ways to spend $10.00 plus tax and tip for lunch. I will not go back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Va
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is pleasant; food varies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a nice place to enjoy some blues music in the background, see a jazz/blues theme around the decor, and enjoy bar-b-que meals. Pulled pork, pulled chicken, and sandwich platters are inexpensive, but ribs price higher and are sometimes awesome, and sometimes not so awesome. I have found, after 10+ visits, that my interest in returning to "do it again" is waning, unlike some restaurants for which I have not waned of interest in their flavor after 20+ visits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hot & Blue also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Gaithersburg, MD
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Hot & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hot & Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.