We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Foord and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hot & Blue

Red Hot & Blue
541 E Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176-4113
703-669-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 169 restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Red Hot & Blue is celebrating 25 years of good food, southern hospitality, and blues! Spend the night out (take the night off?) with a heapin' plate of our award-winnin' Memphis-style ribs -- cooked and smoked to perfection, with a helpin' of Grandma's Homemade Potato Salad while listening to the cool blues. Our signature ribs, pulled pork, and beef brisket are cooked low and slow - guaranteed to be fall-off-the-bone delicious. Busy days can be complemented with our Take-Out, served with our signature Southern hospitality and a smile. Call it in, pick it up, and enjoy, all in the comfort of your own home. Planning a big event? From a fancy wedding to a backyard barbeque, parties of 200 to 2, Red Hot & Blue can offer the best. We provide full service and deluxe catering options; let us do all the cookin' for you, so you can sit back, relax, and enjoy some ol' southern barbeque. Our heapin' portions will have your party stuffed full of delicious slow-smoked meats of your choosing. If you're hungry for barbeque, you're hungry for Red Hot & Blue.
sterling, va
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Foord and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Red Hot and Blue in Leesburg Virginia is very good. The food was tasty and service very good. I got the seafood sampler with catfish and shrimp. Everything was freshly made and tasted very good. My wife got a pulled pork sandwich and she said it was excellent. My wife is doing Weight Watchers and she asked if they had nutritional guide so she could count her points. The waitress said she would check and she came back with a full print out of everything they had with the nutrional information. Now that's great service! This is a place we will go back to and enjoy it very much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    15
    16
    16
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a good Red Hot and Blue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I usually enjoy RH&B restaurants but this particular one is very dissappointing. EVERY time I have been there I have been subject to vacuuming right by my table. The service is miserable and the food is ordinary. I live just in town a few blocks away and have tired this place for lunch and dinner on several different occaisions and am always unhappy when I leave.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hot & Blue, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Margaret, please accept our apology that your recent experiences haven't been satifying. We promise to use your feedback to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We walked into the restaurant just as two employees passed by without greeting us or offering to seat us at a table. We were waiting for a few minutes to be seated, but nobody came to assist us. The place was completely empty, which is never a good sign on a Saturday afternoon. 3-4 waitresses were gathered together chatting with the bar-woman, too preoccupied to notice that customers were waiting by the entrance. We walked to them, interrupting the chatting and we were finally seated at a table.

I ordered pulled pork platter, and it was brought very quickly.

The presentation was good, but the food was disappointing. The meat was dry, cold and completely tasteless, with a spoonful of warm BBQ sauce on top of it. One scoop of so-so potato salad and a small serving of beans fresh out of a can of Bush's Baked Beans. There are much better ways to spend $10.00 plus tax and tip for lunch. I will not go back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Va
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is pleasant; food varies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a nice place to enjoy some blues music in the background, see a jazz/blues theme around the decor, and enjoy bar-b-que meals. Pulled pork, pulled chicken, and sandwich platters are inexpensive, but ribs price higher and are sometimes awesome, and sometimes not so awesome. I have found, after 10+ visits, that my interest in returning to "do it again" is waning, unlike some restaurants for which I have not waned of interest in their flavor after 20+ visits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chain BBQ... few options in Leesburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a chain BBQ place that is OK. The food isn't bad, but do not expect real Southern BBQ. This is not your spot. The lighting inside may be the worst lighting I have ever been forced to eat within. The bartender was nice, but the bar itself is uninviting. You have a feeling that you are drinking in an operating room. The waitstaff/table servers could care less. If Leesburg ever had a real BBQ competitor, this would close quickly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hot & Blue also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Hot & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hot & Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.