We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with good Q” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hot & Blue

Red Hot & Blue
541 E Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176-4113
703-669-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 182 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Bar, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Description: Red Hot and Blue is a full-service, casual-themed restaurant chain and caterer featuring delicious award-winning ribs, Memphis-style barbeque, smoked wings, and Southern sides and desserts. The atmosphere is steeped in legendary and contemporary blues music and delivers a large dose of Southern hospitality in a fun and entertaining dining environment. History: The first Red Hot and Blue restaurant opened in Arlington, Virginia in 1988, started by Lee Atwater, Don Sundquist and friends. Don Sundquist was from Memphis and served in the House of Representatives and as governor of Tennessee. The late Lee Atwater was an amateur blues musician and political figure that managed George H.W. Bush's successful race for the presidency. These men were friends who longed for authentic Memphis-style barbeque and great blues music. Unable to find that combination anywhere in the Washington, DC area they decided the only way to get it done was to open a restaurant of their own. The Memphis-style barbeque chain celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2013 by partnering with a charitable organization at 24 different restaurant locations. The yearlong celebration culminated in the presentation of thousands of dollars in donations to local charities. The Name: The name, "Red Hot and Blue" is taken from the title of D.J. Dewey Phillip's radio show that that aired on WHBQ-AM in Memphis, Tennessee in the 1950s. This radio show launched the careers of Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis and Johnny Cash and broadened the audience for artists such as BB King, Muddy Waters, Robert Cray and Rufus Thomas. Red Hot & Blue Dine-In, Take-Out and Catering. Hickory-smoked Memphis-style BBQ, Ribs, Wings, Beef Brisket, Smoked Chicken, Seafood, Full-service Bar, in a Family-friendly atmosphere with a heapin' helpin' of Southern Hospitality!
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice place with good Q”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We walked down from the hotel and had a nice dinner. Everyone in the group of 8 was pleased.
Good food and good service. Will return next trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia L, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hot & Blue, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for the kind words! We take a lot of pride in our Southern hospitality and Memphis barbecue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    20
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pretty Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Its the best BBQ in Leesburg. We get up there on the weekends and for the most part we have lunch here. Its always been a good value and good food. Not five stars but consistent thougha chain.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Washington, DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

OK, who doesn't know what Red Hot & Blue serves or about the theme?

It isn't fancy, but the specials during the week are fine, if you like hamburgers, especially.

My spouse is wild for the beans (seriously). The cornbread is good, on the sweet side (which, for me, is a good thing . . . I don't care for bitter cornbread). We like the brisket very much, even if it's a bit a fatty for our taste at times. There are a variety of sauces, so each person can choose a favorite. Like okra? I do.

Carryout is available, and works out well (we think) for picnics and so forth.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Consistently meets expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Given it's a chain, you still get what you reasonably expect -- generous portions of well-cooked barbecue or burgers, plus a reasonably ample beer list. Ribs, pulled pork, and chicken are all good options.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Local Great Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Always good food and service. Like Blue Ridge Grill, all the locals go there. There is nothing more to add.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hot & Blue also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Red Hot & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hot & Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.