We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice all around deli!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Street Under

South Street Under
203 Harrison St, Leesburg, VA
703-771-9610
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #8 of 164 restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice all around deli!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We made the trek to Leesburg from Harpers Ferry to visit this restaurant based on the positive reviews. We weren't disappointed! Best roast beef sandwich I've had out in years! The Chicken Ciapini was delicious, too! Don't leave without dessert!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    24
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

So many great choices....it was hard to pick just one thing. Potato leek soup was delicious. Breads were great too. I need time to go back and enjoy everything on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Place For Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I eat here often. Every day they have at least 4 different kinds of soup or stew. These are always delicious and made from what is fresh and available at the time. In addition there is always a special sandwich, quiche, and tea of the day. Each is made fresh that day or in the case of the sandwich while you wait. On top of this they have the best ciabatta bread in town which is supplied with the soup and can be purchased to take home. They also stock their refrigerator with meals that can be taken home and they sell their soup in large contatiner for take home too (they include a loaf of the spectacular bread). There is a lovely patio outside or you can dine in.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A perfect little lunch!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

A friend and I were touring Leesburg and asked a local resident where she would recommend for lunch. She named several places but said South Street Under was known for their home baked ciabetta. One thing I really liked was the parking lot (free!) right at the Market Station where South Street Under is located. Be sure to check out the complete menu, not just the specials written on the blackboard. At South Street Under, you order and pay for your lunch, they give you a number to put in the clip at your table and then someone brings your lunch to you. It was really fast!! In the time we had gotten a table and I went to the restroom to wash my hands, our food had arrived! Both my friend and I were impressed with the freshness of the sandwich and the local resident was right....the ciabetta was FABULOUS!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I ordered a birthday cake here - yellow cake layered with custard and fresh strawberries, topped with whipped cream frosted. It was excellent! We also tried the bread, which was excellent as well. Friendly service, reasonable prices - I think that I finally found my go-to bakery!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Street Under also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to South Street Under? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Street Under, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.