We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect little lunch!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Street Under

South Street Under
203 Harrison St, Leesburg, VA
703-771-9610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 171 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A perfect little lunch!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

A friend and I were touring Leesburg and asked a local resident where she would recommend for lunch. She named several places but said South Street Under was known for their home baked ciabetta. One thing I really liked was the parking lot (free!) right at the Market Station where South Street Under is located. Be sure to check out the complete menu, not just the specials written on the blackboard. At South Street Under, you order and pay for your lunch, they give you a number to put in the clip at your table and then someone brings your lunch to you. It was really fast!! In the time we had gotten a table and I went to the restroom to wash my hands, our food had arrived! Both my friend and I were impressed with the freshness of the sandwich and the local resident was right....the ciabetta was FABULOUS!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I ordered a birthday cake here - yellow cake layered with custard and fresh strawberries, topped with whipped cream frosted. It was excellent! We also tried the bread, which was excellent as well. Friendly service, reasonable prices - I think that I finally found my go-to bakery!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good deli!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Consistently high quality, great soups and sandwiches

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great soup and sandwich in Leesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Located just off the bike trail in the heart of Leesburg South Street offered great hot or cold sandwiches as well as excellent soups. A useful stop if you a shopping downtown or if you need a re fueling stop within easy ach of the trail.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out for soup and sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The space inside is very limited and when it gets crowded you can feel like a sardine. There can be a long line. But the sandwiches are excellent and the soups can be sublime. This place is tucked on the lower level of Market Station below Tuskies, and it is definitely one place that locals go for lunch. There is an outside seating area for nice weather. Prices are reasonable for what you get. The breads are really a highlight.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Street Under also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to South Street Under? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Street Under, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.