We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bakery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Street Under

South Street Under
203 Harrison St, Leesburg, VA
703-771-9610
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 178 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I ordered a birthday cake here - yellow cake layered with custard and fresh strawberries, topped with whipped cream frosted. It was excellent! We also tried the bread, which was excellent as well. Friendly service, reasonable prices - I think that I finally found my go-to bakery!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good deli!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Consistently high quality, great soups and sandwiches

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great soup and sandwich in Leesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Located just off the bike trail in the heart of Leesburg South Street offered great hot or cold sandwiches as well as excellent soups. A useful stop if you a shopping downtown or if you need a re fueling stop within easy ach of the trail.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out for soup and sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The space inside is very limited and when it gets crowded you can feel like a sardine. There can be a long line. But the sandwiches are excellent and the soups can be sublime. This place is tucked on the lower level of Market Station below Tuskies, and it is definitely one place that locals go for lunch. There is an outside seating area for nice weather. Prices are reasonable for what you get. The breads are really a highlight.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seriously one of the best sanwiches I've ever had!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stopped here on the way back from a wedding and got their hot Italian sandwich to go. This sandwich was incredible! Great (ciabatta) bread, good lunch meats, ripe tomatoes, and perfect seasoning! Just about a perfect sandwich in my book. Their iced tea was pretty tasty too as was the chocolate cookie I got for desert.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Street Under also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to South Street Under? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Street Under, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.