We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No herbs/spices in their food? How could it be good Italian?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's

Giovanni's
520 E Market Street, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 777 8440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 192 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Waitstaff
Northern Virginnie
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“No herbs/spices in their food? How could it be good Italian?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Giovanni's is located in a large strip mall on the main street in Leesburg. It seemed to be very busy and people were coming out with leftovers. We decided to give it a try.
It is definitely a large pizzaria with Italian entrees on the menu. We, unfortunately, ordered the entrees. Eggplant parmigiana and gnocchi with chicken.
Our server was very pleasant. Salad was a huge bowl of chopped iceberg lettuce with slices of tomato and cucumber - huge being the operative word here. Dressing is served on the side. Dinners were bland, tasteless, void of any garlic, oregano, basil, or anything else that would have made an Italian sauce or flavor - totally amazing to us. How can you botch up tomato sauce and eggplant parm? To be fair, the pizzas being served looked good - but I keep wondering if they would use the same sauce in those, too? Whatever the case, we won't be finding out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VALinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Service Average Pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stay away, the place is chaos and mayhem. Never received silver ware for our food. Had to get it ourselves, lost our drink order and had to get our own menus! Hot building, drinks came during our meal. We even had to get our own take out box. Many people complained and only got excuses. It was my sons birthday. Cheap food but unclean and un professional atmosphere.

Michelle
Leesburg, VA

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle57894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
192 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stopped in for a light meal after an afternoon of winery hopping. It's a typical pizzeria with an expanded menu of dinners, sandwiches, and salads. We ordered a slice of pizza and a grilled chicken margarita sandwich. Nothing spectacular, but they were decent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, PA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Enjoyed eating at Giovanni's while visiting the area. It's not a place if your looking for atmosphere or something fancy. It is down to earth with a good selection of food items from pizza to subs to seafood to veal etc. and more. Something on the menu to appeal to everyone because of the selection. Prices are very reasonable and the food was delicious. The service was fine and the waitress was attentive. Would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Longstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just ok food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nothing special. Ok food at a decent price. Service is usually pretty good. They need to step up their menu to keep up with local competition.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Giovanni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing