We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No herbs/spices in their food? How could it be good Italian?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's

Giovanni's
520 E Market Street, Leesburg, VA 20176
703 777 8440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 169 restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Northern Virginnie
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“No herbs/spices in their food? How could it be good Italian?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Giovanni's is located in a large strip mall on the main street in Leesburg. It seemed to be very busy and people were coming out with leftovers. We decided to give it a try.
It is definitely a large pizzaria with Italian entrees on the menu. We, unfortunately, ordered the entrees. Eggplant parmigiana and gnocchi with chicken.
Our server was very pleasant. Salad was a huge bowl of chopped iceberg lettuce with slices of tomato and cucumber - huge being the operative word here. Dressing is served on the side. Dinners were bland, tasteless, void of any garlic, oregano, basil, or anything else that would have made an Italian sauce or flavor - totally amazing to us. How can you botch up tomato sauce and eggplant parm? To be fair, the pizzas being served looked good - but I keep wondering if they would use the same sauce in those, too? Whatever the case, we won't be finding out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    16
    23
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad Service Average Pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stay away, the place is chaos and mayhem. Never received silver ware for our food. Had to get it ourselves, lost our drink order and had to get our own menus! Hot building, drinks came during our meal. We even had to get our own take out box. Many people complained and only got excuses. It was my sons birthday. Cheap food but unclean and un professional atmosphere.

Michelle
Leesburg, VA

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stopped in for a light meal after an afternoon of winery hopping. It's a typical pizzeria with an expanded menu of dinners, sandwiches, and salads. We ordered a slice of pizza and a grilled chicken margarita sandwich. Nothing spectacular, but they were decent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Food Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Enjoyed eating at Giovanni's while visiting the area. It's not a place if your looking for atmosphere or something fancy. It is down to earth with a good selection of food items from pizza to subs to seafood to veal etc. and more. Something on the menu to appeal to everyone because of the selection. Prices are very reasonable and the food was delicious. The service was fine and the waitress was attentive. Would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just ok food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nothing special. Ok food at a decent price. Service is usually pretty good. They need to step up their menu to keep up with local competition.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Giovanni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.