We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STOP Yourself before you enter (unless you just want a drink).” 1 of 5 stars
Review of King's Court Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
King's Court Tavern
2C Loudoun St SW, Leesburg, VA 20175-2907
703-777-7747
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 170 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“STOP Yourself before you enter (unless you just want a drink).”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Simply horrible. It is laughable that they call this a British Pub (sorry, Leesburg does not have one - nor an Irish Pub for that matter). The food may be the worst I have ever tasted in a place pretending to serve food. New look does little for the lack of service or quality. Walk down to Tuskies for a significantly better experience at about the same price point. This is one of those places that will remain in business due to location, not quality.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just not quite all together.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Although, I'd say there's potential for a great little restaurant here, it missed the mark on a somewhat busy Labor Day. Our waiter did not seem like a professonial waiter, not very effecient and very slow paced in his actions and walk. Had to wait quite a long time for drinks, then menus, then food, then utencils, etc. It just didn't really 'click.' The soups were pretty good, and the tuna sandwhich (The Ben Franklin) was OK, but it was served with cold soggy french fries, probably because a 'slow motion' waiter let it sit in the pick up window for too long. It is not an inexpensive menu and with other options in dowtown Leesburg, at which we've had better experiences, we won't be going back here anytime soon, and very likely, never.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best bar in Leesburg, if you like live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Bars like this are fast vanishing from our country. It's a no-frills bar with some comfort food, located in a historic building with a huge picture window looking out on the historic district in Leesburg. But the real reason to come here is for the live music. There's a Dixieland band here twice a week (and they're very good), plus other acts including metal bands at other times during the month. I consider the King's Court Tavern to be a local and national treasure, and sincerely hope it stays in business for a long, long time.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I went there for the first time the evening of December 29, 2010 and the place and the bartender were awesome. The service was great and the paintings on the wall were very attractive. So happens that the bartender is an artist and he has transformed this place into a very warm, likeable place to visit and have a drink. The music was great but not so loud that you cannot have a conversation. On Thursdays a Jazz band is there and on Fridays is Open Mike. They have excellent fish and chips. For sure, I will go back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Dive bar with live music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

This is not a place you go to for the food or for great ambiance. This is a semi-popular local spot because of the live music and cheap beer. They do a nice job getting in local bands and singers.

The fish and chips are incredibly good but that is the only thing worth ordering off the menu.

The decor/furniture/paint hasn't changed in years and some people consider that part of the bar's charm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Court Tavern also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to King's Court Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Court Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.