We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Leesburg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoe's Cup & Cork

Shoe's Cup & Cork
17 North King Street, Leesburg, VA 20176
+(1)703-771-7463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 175 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Healthy, Wine Bar, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
west of Washington, DC
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“One of the best in Leesburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We've been here a couple times and were pleased both times! We sat outside in the "secret garden" which was nicely appointed with small group seating areas and a bocce court if you so desired... The food was great and drinks were reasonably priced...I think we've found our new "hangout"

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Garden Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The weather was spectacular this week and after a hike in the foothills we broke up our drive to DC with a stop for dinner in Leesburg which is a mystery to us. The four of us agreed, we MUST eat outside tonight! We found Shoe's next to a much fancier and totally booked restaurant with a nice outdoor seating area. Its hostess was sweet and helpful by recommending we try Shoe's next door. The garden entrance is through the storefront which used to be a shoe store. Its basically a deli with good coffee and tea and beer and a thoughtful wine list. (Don't ask for non-alcoholic beer or a mixed drink). The back garden has 4-7 private seating nooks which are well lit, have outdoor fans and propane heaters which extend the comfortable season. The staff is very friendly and are quick to encourage moving chairs, tables etc, "we want you to be happy" was so nice to hear and they meant it. We were encouraged to lounge about after they cleared our meal and we had declined coffee and dessert. Very gracious and unusual. The menu is not very deep but the food is thoughtfully prepared and its not just grilled cheese and french fries. A bocce ball court graces the backyard and could be a real center of attention if you are moved by that bowling game.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg VA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great coffee, average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The coffee drinks are excellent...the food, meh. Ordered the mozz panini, and a salad. The panini was bland, flavorless on bread that resembled a hot dog bun. Also ordered the tuna melt, it was average, and small. The pickle on the plate was home made, and tasted "off". The quality and variety of drinks and coffees elevates this place to average. It's self service at the window and it should stay that way. It appears to be full service some times - when you try and have full table service with wait staff who are not experienced in dealing with table service, it shows. We didn't stick around for ice cream - it would have melted by the time we got it. This place was better in the food and service department with the previous ownership/management.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“my first visit to Shoes since it returned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Wonderful place. I understand why it has such a following! We only had coffee but I will be back for lunch or more as soon as we have a chance. Great coffee by the way, better and less expensive than one of those "other" places!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, let's eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The only downside here is there isn't much seating. Positives: family friendly, ice cream, root beer floats to die for, live music-though slanted more country and local than rock/pop, good wine/beer/coffee/tea/soda selection, delicious food (mostly sandwiches), I could go on for a while :). The seating layout, decor, and atmosphere are the definition of a bistro. Having traveled all over Western Europe this past decade (Edinburgh, London, Paris, Amsterdam, ...), I have to say they nailed it on the head. Best for lunch, not sure how they are for dinner or breakfast.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoe's Cup & Cork also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Shoe's Cup & Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoe's Cup & Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.