We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up and Down Food Selection for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscarora Mill

Tuscarora Mill
203 Harrison St. SE, Leesburg, VA 20175
703-771-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tuscarora Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 160 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Loudoun & Harrison
Transit: Loudoun Transit stops at Harrison & Loudoun
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Up and Down Food Selection for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A very nice setting and some of the food was amazing. However, other portions were a bit underwhelming for higher end price you're paying. Service was solid on the other hand.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    110
    47
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
773 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food. An old standby delivers again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed lunch here two days ago while touring Leesburg, Va and the nearby Leesburgh Premium Outlet Mall. The food was delicious and the service was perfect. We have been here probably 5-6 times over the years and the restaurant alway pleases the palate with good food! Sad to say that the shopping district in historic Leesburg has continued to slip downward. There was a time when this was a real destination with antique shops, great restaurants, and unique trendy gifts. Not as true today. The Tuscacora Mill has successfully maintained its position. The restaurants in historic Leesburg don't seem to have kept in step and look yesteryear with little eye appeal. The clothing and antique shops are pretty boring. The Leesburg Outlet Mall, however, was really busy with robust buying. The mall has many well known shops, including Columbia Sports, Nautica, Polo, Saks, Chicos and many others.
Like most outlet malls, these stores do not carry the first line merchandise that the stores do in large shopping malls. But a few do including Columbia Sports. Still this is a bustling and vibrant shopping area. Again, when in Leesburg, the best outing is lunch or dinner at the Tuscarora Mill !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty Quality - Will Go Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Let me start with the fresh bread, it's addictive. A nice Caesar salad complimented a very good sesame crusted salmon with Asian vegetables. I'll return soon for an encore!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Tuscarora Mill ("Tuskie's" to its many regulars) has turned out consistently high-quality dishes, with an imaginative and diversified menu. Local favorites, such as corn chowder, grilled chicken with home-made pasta, and lamb-burger, have been there for decades, but there are always fresh fusion ideas as well. Service is attentive and professional. This is far-and-away the most enjoyable dining experience in Leesburg.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A less than pleasant experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Did not see a dress code, so we went in wearing golf/casual shirts and shorts/capris. We were promptly shuttled to a side room and forgotten about. A brief conversation with individual at desk at entrance to dining room did lead to a server finding us. We placed our lunch order and received our food in a reasonable time. I understood that the restaurant served smoked food and barbecue, but did not expect my pastrami sandwich to only taste like smoke. Having lived abroad, I am not a fan of "boutique" brews which was all that the restaurant served. Bar staff had a problem understanding that someone might not appreciate their limited selection of beer. Past experiences in better, and even lesser, restaurants involved staff much more interested in providing excellent service and menus with a much wider selection of drinks and food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscarora Mill also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Tuscarora Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscarora Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.