We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and good food. An old standby delivers again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscarora Mill

Tuscarora Mill
203 Harrison St. SE, Leesburg, VA 20175
703-771-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tuscarora Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 175 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Loudoun & Harrison
Transit: Loudoun Transit stops at Harrison & Loudoun
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
594 reviews 594 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food. An old standby delivers again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed lunch here two days ago while touring Leesburg, Va and the nearby Leesburgh Premium Outlet Mall. The food was delicious and the service was perfect. We have been here probably 5-6 times over the years and the restaurant alway pleases the palate with good food! Sad to say that the shopping district in historic Leesburg has continued to slip downward. There was a time when this was a real destination with antique shops, great restaurants, and unique trendy gifts. Not as true today. The Tuscacora Mill has successfully maintained its position. The restaurants in historic Leesburg don't seem to have kept in step and look yesteryear with little eye appeal. The clothing and antique shops are pretty boring. The Leesburg Outlet Mall, however, was really busy with robust buying. The mall has many well known shops, including Columbia Sports, Nautica, Polo, Saks, Chicos and many others.
Like most outlet malls, these stores do not carry the first line merchandise that the stores do in large shopping malls. But a few do including Columbia Sports. Still this is a bustling and vibrant shopping area. Again, when in Leesburg, the best outing is lunch or dinner at the Tuscarora Mill !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    93
    39
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasty Quality - Will Go Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Let me start with the fresh bread, it's addictive. A nice Caesar salad complimented a very good sesame crusted salmon with Asian vegetables. I'll return soon for an encore!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Tuscarora Mill ("Tuskie's" to its many regulars) has turned out consistently high-quality dishes, with an imaginative and diversified menu. Local favorites, such as corn chowder, grilled chicken with home-made pasta, and lamb-burger, have been there for decades, but there are always fresh fusion ideas as well. Service is attentive and professional. This is far-and-away the most enjoyable dining experience in Leesburg.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A less than pleasant experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Did not see a dress code, so we went in wearing golf/casual shirts and shorts/capris. We were promptly shuttled to a side room and forgotten about. A brief conversation with individual at desk at entrance to dining room did lead to a server finding us. We placed our lunch order and received our food in a reasonable time. I understood that the restaurant served smoked food and barbecue, but did not expect my pastrami sandwich to only taste like smoke. Having lived abroad, I am not a fan of "boutique" brews which was all that the restaurant served. Bar staff had a problem understanding that someone might not appreciate their limited selection of beer. Past experiences in better, and even lesser, restaurants involved staff much more interested in providing excellent service and menus with a much wider selection of drinks and food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OVERRATED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Unfriendly bald old men as hosts. First strike. The waitress looked like she just woke up from a nap. We experienced extremely slow service from start to finish. Actually, the waitress was really quick in grabbing our payment at the end, but that's about the fastest we saw her move the entire night. Food was mediocre. I could have cooked a better steak at home. The full rack of lamb was only 4 ribs of meat. The sides were clearly prepped way ahead of time and the cheese on the potato was crusty and tasted like cafeteria food. I'm not sure what all the rave is about. Oh, and it's way over priced. Never going back again. Try Lightfoot or Vintage 50 for better service and food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscarora Mill also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Tuscarora Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscarora Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.