We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A less than pleasant experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscarora Mill

Tuscarora Mill
203 Harrison St. SE, Leesburg, VA 20175
703-478-1141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tuscarora Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 169 restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Loudoun & Harrison
Transit: Loudoun Transit stops at Harrison & Loudoun
Destin, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A less than pleasant experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Did not see a dress code, so we went in wearing golf/casual shirts and shorts/capris. We were promptly shuttled to a side room and forgotten about. A brief conversation with individual at desk at entrance to dining room did lead to a server finding us. We placed our lunch order and received our food in a reasonable time. I understood that the restaurant served smoked food and barbecue, but did not expect my pastrami sandwich to only taste like smoke. Having lived abroad, I am not a fan of "boutique" brews which was all that the restaurant served. Bar staff had a problem understanding that someone might not appreciate their limited selection of beer. Past experiences in better, and even lesser, restaurants involved staff much more interested in providing excellent service and menus with a much wider selection of drinks and food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    153
    83
    38
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OVERRATED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Unfriendly bald old men as hosts. First strike. The waitress looked like she just woke up from a nap. We experienced extremely slow service from start to finish. Actually, the waitress was really quick in grabbing our payment at the end, but that's about the fastest we saw her move the entire night. Food was mediocre. I could have cooked a better steak at home. The full rack of lamb was only 4 ribs of meat. The sides were clearly prepped way ahead of time and the cheese on the potato was crusty and tasted like cafeteria food. I'm not sure what all the rave is about. Oh, and it's way over priced. Never going back again. Try Lightfoot or Vintage 50 for better service and food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here. Great food and service. We shared an appetizer of fried green tomatoes with burrata and spicy tomato sauce. Then most of the main courses come in two sizes so those with a smaller appetite can chose a smaller portion - what a great idea which cuts down on waste. This left room for a full sized dessert although they do a tasting size portion of this as well. They have a great selection of beers and wines. We loved it even though my husbands lamb was slightly overcooked it didnt spoil the meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The mussels with the blue cheese and flying dog ale are outstanding. Whenever we're in the area we stop in for meal that never fails to please.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I really like this restaurant and try to go when in Leesburg visiting my children.
Service is attentive and acommadating - bringing out a child's meal (special kid menu) in just a few minutes. Food is excellent and thoughtfully prepared. We often share several appetizers and an entree between 3 of us. Good selection of beers and wines. The fruit napolean is just a great dessert. I've never had a bad meal here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscarora Mill also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Tuscarora Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscarora Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.