We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is phenomenal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lightfoot

Lightfoot
11 North King St., Leesburg, VA 20176
703 771 2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lightfoot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 170 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Market Street
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food is phenomenal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Food was everything I expected and MORE! The feel of the restaurant is upscale, relaxed, just perfect. Menu choices and specialties are fabulous. Enough options for everyone. We were lucky enough to have lobster bisque for the soup and it is out of this world! Everything was cooked to perfection. Okay, now for why it isn't 5 star. Service was lacking. They set us up with 2 tables which was fine, but the one table was served and finished with their entrees while the second table was waiting and waiting and waiting. With no explanation or apology from the server this was a real turn off.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    62
    25
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food and ambiance excellent;service good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The ambiance and feel of the restaurant is five star as is the food.
The service was not as good as I would have thought compared to the prices and the food and ambiance excellence. The waitress was not as knowledgeable as she should have been and was difficult to understand though she seemed very kind and nice.
We were not offered bread and our drinks were not refiled in a timely manner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding Rehearsal dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This pass weekend I was treated to and amazing reception/rehearsal dinner at Lighfoot's, the staff was wonderful, atmosphere outstanding and the food incredible - I plan on returning for any special dinner's / occasions the future. A special place for special events

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We celebrated my fathers' 70th birthday at Lightfoot. There were 12 of us, including children, for dinner. The atmosphere was fantastic! The wait staff was terrific! The food was fabulous! They had a "steak and cake" special which was a filet and crabcake. Both were divine!

I dropped off balloons and a birthday cake ahead of time. The dinner/cake could not have gone better. It was the perfect place to have a celebration.

P.S. Don't miss the parking lot behind the restaurant. Very convenient!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth making a special trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I am surprised that Lightfoot isn't rated number one in Leesburg as it could compete favorably in any city. Lightfoot is located smack dab in center of centuries old Leesburg and the fully restored building itself dates back to 1888. Although parking was a challenge in crowded downtown at lunch hour, I forgot all about how many times I had to circle the building once I entered this truly magnificent setting which still has some of the features of the bank it once was for half a century. The woodwork is craftsman quality and owners had left a considerable amount of orignal design instact and refreshed or modernized aspects that make sense and with a very pleasingif not entrancing result. I could hardly concentrate on the superb menu due to such interesting decor in every direction. i wanted to get up and explore before i could sit and eat. I managed to order and did exactly that. Surprises and delights great you at every turn from oversized artwork to fine wood and iron crafted into functional and pleasing designs. The centerpiece bar is constructed around a massive safe from its incarnation as People's Bank.

The menu is well designed and I had a hard time selecting from the tantalizing choices. The food was well prepared and service was top notch. I lingered as long as possible with note to self to return as soon as feasible. This place is pretty special!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lightfoot also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Lightfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lightfoot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.