We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Quite Cuts It” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lightfoot

Lightfoot
11 North King St., Leesburg, VA 20176
703 771 2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lightfoot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 168 restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Market Street
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Never Quite Cuts It”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have been here three times and as one in our party said it, the menu always looks better than the actual dish. They have a few really good dishes such as the onion and mushroom soup but for the most part the food is pretty mediocre. The service is always slow and the wait staff is not very attentive or responsive. On our most recent visit, one in our party very clearly told the waitress they only wanted the steak sandwich if it was shaved steak otherwise she would order something else. Well the waitress assured her it would be shaved. Well what arrived had chunks of steak in a rather unappetizing presentation. The point being we would have ordered something else if what we asked for couldn't be arranged. This was our last effort to come here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    110
    58
    24
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Super cool restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Been here several times. Never disappointed. Food, service atmosphere--excellent! Love the experience

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“Overated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant thinks they are good. The waitstaff turned their noses at us because we did not order alcohol. Portions are very small. If you see a lot of bad reviews of waitstaff, don't you think you would make changes????

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cold and an indifferent waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were given a table under an AC vent and three tables of two shivered until we asked that they warm it up. Fifteen minutes later the cold stopped blowing.

We ordered an appetizer of chips, cheese and bacon. We watched other tables nearby get appetizers, soups and entrees--in other words three courses with no word from our waiter. When we able to finally ask the waiter for a status we were informed the chips had run out and they were making more. The attitude from our waiter was indifferent as if we shouldn't be asking. When the chips came, it was rather obvious that they hadn't just been made. The entrees were not spectacular either.

This is my second and last visit. I came one other time about seven years ago and the memory was only a little better. Go to Blue Ridge or Fireworks, not Lightfoot. Blue Ridge has some of the best service I've ever experienced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lunch in a Bank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It is a great way to use an old building. This used to be a bank turned into a resturant. The menu had no prices on it, which was not to our liking. The food was good.We enjoyed looking at the details of the building.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lightfoot also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County

Been to Lightfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lightfoot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.