We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel Where George Washington Stayed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leesburg Colonial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Leesburg Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Leesburg Colonial Inn
19 South King Street, Leesburg, VA 20175   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Leesburg B&B and Inns
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Hotel Where George Washington Stayed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Right in the heart of Historic Downtown Leesburg where General Washington stayed multiple times! You can literally feel the history in this completely up to date hotel. The rooms are quite comfortable and reasonably priced as well. Perfect for that weekend getaway! In the morning have breakfast at the Georgetown Cafe which is owned by the Colonial Hotel, Then enjoy all of what Historic Leesburg has to offer!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    9
    6
    12
See reviews for
2
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blairstown, New Jersey
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I booked a room at the Leesburg Colonial Inn for a weekend that was to be a belated honeymoon and a birthday celebration. We were in town to attend a family wedding... we booked a month and a half ahead of time and were delighted by the description and website. We arrived to find NO check-in desk, no proper entrance and 3 LONG flights of stairs to treck up while we carried heavy luggage. Our room, #9, boasted as the "Honeymoon Suite", was not only pitiful, but disgusting. The rug and floors were filthy, the chairs stained beyond use, the bathroom worse than a cheap roadside motel with one single tiny (inch diamater) piece of soap. The clock was broken, the bathroom blower also broken...and the temperature of the room, despite adjusting the controls, was unbearably HOT. There was no champagne platter as promised, and the bill for two nights was to be $388.00 My husband and I checked out 2 hours after we checked in and demanded they take it off our credit card. The rooms are worthless- the entire establishment should be shut down. We have never experienced anything so hideous, misleading or ballsy..HOW DARE THEY even be in business much less advertise the way they have. I am reporting them and will do everything to get them shut down. They ruined out entire trip- and the honeymoon that we intended turned out to be a weekend from Hell searching for another place to stay. It kicked off a domino effect of terrible events, and I won't let this go until those doors are closed to the public.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Should have looked at Tripadvisor reviews PRIOR to booking! We decided to book the Honeymoon Suite because we figured the room would be nicer. What a wreck the room was. Plus we got no breakfast offering for either of the two days we stays and were given no explaination why. After our first nights stay I wanted to check out but we decided that we might as well stay there because it was located downtown. We got back to our room around 230 that afternoon and SURPRISE the room was not made up! I would be amazed if this place gets ANY repeat business. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We are planning our wedding and decided to give the Colonial Inn a trial run. Thank goodness we did. We booked one of the honeymoon suites. First, we couldn't find the entrance to the B&B and then finally saw the sign that told us to check-in in the diner. The greasy diner is your main entrance to the hotel. Then, we were led up a staircase covered with a disgusting old carpet and down a hallway with an old chair just covered with a piece of cloth to our room. The honeymoon suite could have been in a horror movie. It was incredibly small, and had coffee spills on the walls, sticky stuff on the floor by the bed (we had to bring out the bath rug and put it over the sticky area), corroded fixtures (sink in the room, drain in the tub). AND, the bathroom was out of a fifties movie, except worse. It was incredibly tiny and outdated, and every color of blue you could imagine. The floor, walls, toilet and tub were all a different unattractive color blue. Luckily the toilet seat was white. The vanity was falling apart and the area under the cabinet had lost its finish. The bottom of the tub was not clean. All in all, if we had showed up at this place on our wedding night, I would have cried and walked out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We decided to stay over in Leesburg at the last minute. This Inn was built in the 1700's so it is historic and has the feel of a very old building. I thought it was comfortable, quiet and quaint. It fit our needs. It's not a big, new glossy hotel, instead it offers coziness, uniquness and history. So depending on what you're looking for...I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My wife and I had a great stay at the Colonial Inn. We enjoyed a nice dinner and evening at a local pub. The service overall was good at the hotel and it was clean. The location was excellent, located in downtown leesburg. The bed was extremely comfortable. The owner of the restaurant gave us a last minuite discount.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband & I decided to stay in this hotel because it is located in the downtown area. I must say it was a lovely experience! I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a mom and pop feel. This isn't a big fancy new hotel. There is a relaxed and unstuffy atmosphere. The rooms were nice. The breakfast was delicious. Nothing beats the location either.

We woke up, had breakfast, and walked around the downtown area. Leesburg is a very cute little town. We recommend this place! Especially room #9.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leesburg Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesburg Colonial Inn

Address: 19 South King Street, Leesburg, VA 20175
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Leesburg Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leesburg Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.