We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compete Disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leesburg Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Leesburg Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Leesburg Colonial Inn
19 South King Street, Leesburg, VA 20175   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Leesburg B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Compete Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We are planning our wedding and decided to give the Colonial Inn a trial run. Thank goodness we did. We booked one of the honeymoon suites. First, we couldn't find the entrance to the B&B and then finally saw the sign that told us to check-in in the diner. The greasy diner is your main entrance to the hotel. Then, we were led up a staircase covered with a disgusting old carpet and down a hallway with an old chair just covered with a piece of cloth to our room. The honeymoon suite could have been in a horror movie. It was incredibly small, and had coffee spills on the walls, sticky stuff on the floor by the bed (we had to bring out the bath rug and put it over the sticky area), corroded fixtures (sink in the room, drain in the tub). AND, the bathroom was out of a fifties movie, except worse. It was incredibly tiny and outdated, and every color of blue you could imagine. The floor, walls, toilet and tub were all a different unattractive color blue. Luckily the toilet seat was white. The vanity was falling apart and the area under the cabinet had lost its finish. The bottom of the tub was not clean. All in all, if we had showed up at this place on our wedding night, I would have cried and walked out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S0papilla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We decided to stay over in Leesburg at the last minute. This Inn was built in the 1700's so it is historic and has the feel of a very old building. I thought it was comfortable, quiet and quaint. It fit our needs. It's not a big, new glossy hotel, instead it offers coziness, uniquness and history. So depending on what you're looking for...I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HauntedTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My wife and I had a great stay at the Colonial Inn. We enjoyed a nice dinner and evening at a local pub. The service overall was good at the hotel and it was clean. The location was excellent, located in downtown leesburg. The bed was extremely comfortable. The owner of the restaurant gave us a last minuite discount.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotellover00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband & I decided to stay in this hotel because it is located in the downtown area. I must say it was a lovely experience! I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a mom and pop feel. This isn't a big fancy new hotel. There is a relaxed and unstuffy atmosphere. The rooms were nice. The breakfast was delicious. Nothing beats the location either.

We woke up, had breakfast, and walked around the downtown area. Leesburg is a very cute little town. We recommend this place! Especially room #9.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank musalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

We stayed over the weekend of May 19-20. We were in the "honeymoon" suite. What a joke (on us). They quoted us a price, and then added $25 for a second person! The "jacuzzi" was a very dirty regular bathtub/shower with some jets that we didn't try. The broken light fixture in the bathroom and the circa 1987 TV/VCR with lousy reception were really "special treats" as well.

The room was very run down, and we had to check in at the restaurant on the first floor (which did not serve anything close to a "gourmet" breakfast - just usual travel fare that was edible for the most part).

It was without a doubt the most overpriced and run down "inn" that I have ever stayed in. Do yourself a favor - don't stay here unless you have no other options within 25 miles or so.

  • Liked — It was close walking distance to a nice restaurant, but nothing on site
  • Disliked — A tie between the horrible room and the horrible service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SRTravel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leesburg hotels

columbia, MD
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

I have never seen a greater disconnect between a web site’s description of a place and the disappointing reality. It boasts “Persian and Oriental rugs.” Whatever that was on the floor was filthy. The room is pretty crummy. The bathroom was acceptable. Anyone who finds this place “charming” should have his head examined. It should go for $35 a night, not $125. The night I was there all the modern motels were filled and only three of the ten rooms at Colonial Inn were filled, for good reason. The touted “full gourmet breakfast with authentic 18th-century cuisine,” included in the price, was inedible. I had to go elsewhere to get something to eat.
The people who work there are friendly.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank borance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

This hotel is poorly kept and extremely over priced. I stayed here in mid February and I would not recommend it to anyone. The bed itself was ok, but the chairs were so stained that I didn't even want to sit on them, the rug was worn, and it looked like nothing had been dusted or swept in ages. The bathroom was mediocre at best. The hotel is in a good location and it has a lot of potential, but its current condition is just awful. The prices are exorbitant as well. My room was not worth more than $70-$80/night at the most, and it was one of the suites, but i payed almost triple that. This hotel doesn't have the historic ambiance that some travelers might be looking for, it is just plain filthy and run down.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgeous12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Leesburg
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Leesburg
Comfort Suites Leesburg
#2 of 7 in Leesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Historic Leesburg
8.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles - North/Loudoun
7.1 mi away
Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leesburg Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesburg Colonial Inn

Address: 19 South King Street, Leesburg, VA 20175
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serving historic Leesburg, Virginia, for over 40 years, the Leesburg Colonial Inn features 10 nicely-appointed rooms - each with a comfortable bed, private bath, antique furnishings, cable TV, and free Wi-Fi access. All rooms are smoking free, select rooms include fireplaces, and there is an onsite laundry facility. The room price includes a free, made-to-order breakfast for up to two travelers at our adjoining restaurant, Georgetown Cafe and Bakery. Guests may enjoy appetizers, soups, sandwiches, or full entrees at the nearby Kings Court Tavern and Wine Bar which features live music on most evenings. For those seeking a leisurely meal in a colonial setting, please visit our historic Old Town Grill located a few doors down on the same street - this restaurant is large enough to host rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions or family reunion meals. Also, the Inn is next door to Rouge Spa & Boutique which offers personalized facials, massage and body treatments. The Inn is perfectly situated for visitors to Leesburg or the greater Washington, D.C area, including Civil War buffs, hikers and bikers, wine connoisseurs, horse enthusiasts, golfers, and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Leesburg Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing