We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C&O bikers beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leesburg Colonial Inn

Save Saved
You added Leesburg Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leesburg Colonial Inn
19 South King Street, Leesburg, VA 20175   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Leesburg B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“C&O bikers beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Do Not stay here if you plan on using a shuttle service-which Fabian,the "boss" promises will be no problem to arrange!
The instructions that I was given were to call about 30 minutes before we arrived in White's Ferry to give a head's up to the staff and then call when we arrive at the ferry. We were assured that it would only take them 5 minutes to get the shuttle to us. I told Fabien when I reserved the room that we would need a fairly early morning shuttle out the next morning since we had to cycle to D.C. and then drive home that same day. I was assured that it would be no problem and that we could arrange that during check-in.
We followed the instructions to be picked up and then spent almost an HOUR waiting for the shuttle. During check-in, i was promised that a 9 a.m. shuttle would be provided the next morning. I was very clear that we needed to leave at that time. The next morning, at breakfast, I asked about the shuttle and was met with disbelief. There was no shuttle arranged, never is anyone available at that time on a weekend to do a shuttle,the boss rarely comes in on a morning and he is the only one to ok a shuttle, no one has a phone number for the boss and the man we spoke to during check-in was quitting as of that day and they had no phone number for him anyway! Apparently, and I quote, "if the place was burning down,we call 911 and no one has the phone number of the boss". We ended up riding our bikes down rte. 15 with the 60 mph traffic to get to the ferry. Unpleasant and unsafe but the only way we were getting to the C&O that day.
As for the hotel itself, there is a lot more shabby than chic going on! Very worn rugs and furnishings,big pieces of fabric thrown over chairs to hide how bad they looked, no shampoo or hairdryer. It was plain run down and we had been staying at historical and charming inns all week so age wasn't the problem.
I cannot understand how a business can be run by a boss who cannot be reached and no one else having authority to make decisions. And a boss who blatantly lies about his shuttle service when bikers rely on it! We wanted to support the local economy ,however, next time,unless another inn establishes itself in Leesburg (we miss the Norris Inn!),we will stay at the Comfort Inn. At least they really have a working shuttle!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    8
    6
    11
See reviews for
1
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stopped on the way from Pittsburgh to D.C. by bike. Owner picked us up at the ferry and someone took us back the next day, at no charge. Staff helped us with our bikes and bags. Nice breakfast in the morning, again at no extra charge. A real bargain! I'm surprised by the negative reviews. Maybe the staff has read them and made some changes for the better. My only complaint is that my bed really squeaked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Called for our free shuttle service from the ferry. Was told it would be 15-20 minutes. Called back an hour later to see if they forgot about us. Call taker said let me ask "the boss" (the entire stay, everyone kept referring to "the boss" but I never spoke with him). Finally came and got us and tossed our bikes haphazardly into the truck bed, no racks or straps. took us to the back alley where an outside bar was set up. walked through the rear entrance to the bar and was directed to the restaurant side where a waiter fumbled through some paper work to try to find what room I had and some form to sign. We were told by him that we get 2 free drinks at the bar and that free breakfast starts at 8. We got neither. It was a Friday night stay and the bands from downstairs and outside were quite loud throughout our room. In the morning when we asked about our shuttle service back to the ferry, apx 5 miles, they looked at us like we were from Mars. We were told that we had to set that up with "the boss" the night before and he's the only one with a truck and doesn't come in till late. We were never told the night before that we had to make arrangements with "the boss". It just stands to reason that if we called for the shuttle here that we would need to to get back too. Rather than freaking out, we just asked for our bikes and we would leave. A guy from the restaurant, a server I presume, brought our bikes out to the street, turned his back and walked back inside without saying a word...no attempts at apologies, no attempts at helping us find a solution, nothing. A couple we ran into at the ferry said they cancelled their room and booked the Comfort Inn (which had quick shuttle service and a bike rack) after reading too many bad reviews. Unfortunately for us, there was a 3 day notice on cancellations so we had to roll the dice. EPIC FAIL! DO NOT GIVE THESE CLOWNS OR "THE BOSS" YOUR BUSINESS!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We wanted to stay downtown and, sadly, Leesburg does not offer much. The Colonial Inn is in the middle of town, so we booked it for 2 nights. As already explained, check in is rather "interesting" but it works. Our room was small and had no desk, which made it a bit difficult for work purposes. Everything seemed clean and tidy. It was very quiet, we never even heard the other guests coming or going. Everyone on the staff was very nice and extremely friendly. In the morning, you go downstairs to the cafe for breakfast. Very nice choices and a great server who managed to take care of everyone all on his own. It is a very unusual place, an experience to be sure. Funky and a bit run down. But if you are wanting to be downtown, this is IT!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed one night - grumpy reception greeting through the cafe - cramped shabby room, no answer from reception via phone - no in-room coffee maker or hairdryer - only advantage is location otherwise Don`t bother

Room Tip: No chance believe me !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centerburg, ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were going to stay at the interstate but the traffic was so bad that we decided to drive into Leesburg and we found the Colonial Inn. It was good for my friend and myself as we like things a little out of the ordinary. It might not be for everyone though.The Colonial Inn is 10 rooms above a restaurant and a bar in the historic Leesburg district. It was wonderful for walking to historical places and for walking to bars and restaurants at night.
The room and bathroom was clean and neat. The room contains old furniture, as in antique furniture, but it has an eclectic feel because the furniture is "distressed". The room contained 2 single beds with old fashioned looking quilts. There is no frig or microwave. It had cable TV and free wireless that was fast. You cannot hear any noise from the establishments below.
The stairs and hallway also look like a blast from the very distant past and I found it charming. You check in at the restaurant which is unique but quaint! Free parking in back but spaces are limited. City parking is $5 per day but that is $5 for each day, not for 24 hours. was a little strange that at 10:00 pm the bar and restaurant are locked from the inn entrance and a key must be used then to enter the building so don't lose your key. Otherwise you can enter the hallway from the front or back of the eateries. I like it and would use it again.

Room Tip: arrive before 10:00 pm or you cannot check in. rooms in front look out at historic Leesburg street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Yes its strange to check into a B&B thru a restaurant, but it works. They do have a weird safe room in the basement to store your bicycle. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but maybe that was because we were riding bicycles on the C&O trail all day. Hot water but no toiletries except cheap soap. We could bring a $6 cold tap beer to our room which was refreshing after a long day of riding. The restaurant and bar below the B&B were packed when we got there, so we chose to walk the town and find another restaurant. Restaurant was open at 7 am on Sunday, and the breakfast (free with stay) was good with friendly service. Relatively close to the C&O bike trail and just a couple blocks from the Washington & Old Dominion Trail - paved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leesburg Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesburg Colonial Inn

Address: 19 South King Street, Leesburg, VA 20175
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leesburg Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leesburg Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.