We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to describe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leesburg Colonial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Leesburg Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Leesburg Colonial Inn
19 South King Street, Leesburg, VA 20175   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Leesburg B&B and Inns
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hard to describe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We wanted to stay downtown and, sadly, Leesburg does not offer much. The Colonial Inn is in the middle of town, so we booked it for 2 nights. As already explained, check in is rather "interesting" but it works. Our room was small and had no desk, which made it a bit difficult for work purposes. Everything seemed clean and tidy. It was very quiet, we never even heard the other guests coming or going. Everyone on the staff was very nice and extremely friendly. In the morning, you go downstairs to the cafe for breakfast. Very nice choices and a great server who managed to take care of everyone all on his own. It is a very unusual place, an experience to be sure. Funky and a bit run down. But if you are wanting to be downtown, this is IT!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    9
    6
    13
See reviews for
2
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed one night - grumpy reception greeting through the cafe - cramped shabby room, no answer from reception via phone - no in-room coffee maker or hairdryer - only advantage is location otherwise Don`t bother

Room Tip: No chance believe me !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centerburg, ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were going to stay at the interstate but the traffic was so bad that we decided to drive into Leesburg and we found the Colonial Inn. It was good for my friend and myself as we like things a little out of the ordinary. It might not be for everyone though.The Colonial Inn is 10 rooms above a restaurant and a bar in the historic Leesburg district. It was wonderful for walking to historical places and for walking to bars and restaurants at night.
The room and bathroom was clean and neat. The room contains old furniture, as in antique furniture, but it has an eclectic feel because the furniture is "distressed". The room contained 2 single beds with old fashioned looking quilts. There is no frig or microwave. It had cable TV and free wireless that was fast. You cannot hear any noise from the establishments below.
The stairs and hallway also look like a blast from the very distant past and I found it charming. You check in at the restaurant which is unique but quaint! Free parking in back but spaces are limited. City parking is $5 per day but that is $5 for each day, not for 24 hours. was a little strange that at 10:00 pm the bar and restaurant are locked from the inn entrance and a key must be used then to enter the building so don't lose your key. Otherwise you can enter the hallway from the front or back of the eateries. I like it and would use it again.

Room Tip: arrive before 10:00 pm or you cannot check in. rooms in front look out at historic Leesburg street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Yes its strange to check into a B&B thru a restaurant, but it works. They do have a weird safe room in the basement to store your bicycle. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but maybe that was because we were riding bicycles on the C&O trail all day. Hot water but no toiletries except cheap soap. We could bring a $6 cold tap beer to our room which was refreshing after a long day of riding. The restaurant and bar below the B&B were packed when we got there, so we chose to walk the town and find another restaurant. Restaurant was open at 7 am on Sunday, and the breakfast (free with stay) was good with friendly service. Relatively close to the C&O bike trail and just a couple blocks from the Washington & Old Dominion Trail - paved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was a little off trail and they offered to pick us up from Whites Ferry but we chose to ride the extra 4 miles which worked out fine. The rooms were nice with private baths but the prices really varied by room. Our friends got a great price for their room but ours was much higher. In my mind the rooms were very similar. We asked why the difference but was told that it was just how they were priced. If I stayed there again I would ask for the cheeper rooms. Breakfast was OK and was served in the restaurant, which didn't open until 10 AM which was late for us cyclists. No early coffee. Staff was very friendly and carried our bikes to the cellar to store for the night. Oh - their washer was broken so no clean towels for showers. Finally, some arrived at our room. This was an older place that needs some TLC.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed because the Inn was on my way to Fairfax and I could find it easily. The other reviews I read are correct...the staff is very nice, but, they really need direction. I noticed they were hiring in all areas so maybe they were short staffed. The bed was clean. The room was old, I left early. After 10:00 p.m. no one is around and that was a bit spooky.
They did offer breakfast, but not until 10:00 a.m. when the restaurant downstairs opened. I left long before that.
Did eat in the restaurant for dinner and the food was good, but, not really worth the price. Would not suggest this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Do not stay here. It is not quaint. It is not charming. It is not romantic. It is old, it is poorly run. It stinks. It is loud! It is not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leesburg Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesburg Colonial Inn

Address: 19 South King Street, Leesburg, VA 20175
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Leesburg Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leesburg Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.