We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets the job done but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leesburg Colonial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Leesburg Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Leesburg Colonial Inn
19 South King Street, Leesburg, VA 20175   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Leesburg B&B and Inns
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gets the job done but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Yes its strange to check into a B&B thru a restaurant, but it works. They do have a weird safe room in the basement to store your bicycle. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but maybe that was because we were riding bicycles on the C&O trail all day. Hot water but no toiletries except cheap soap. We could bring a $6 cold tap beer to our room which was refreshing after a long day of riding. The restaurant and bar below the B&B were packed when we got there, so we chose to walk the town and find another restaurant. Restaurant was open at 7 am on Sunday, and the breakfast (free with stay) was good with friendly service. Relatively close to the C&O bike trail and just a couple blocks from the Washington & Old Dominion Trail - paved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    9
    6
    13
See reviews for
2
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Selah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was a little off trail and they offered to pick us up from Whites Ferry but we chose to ride the extra 4 miles which worked out fine. The rooms were nice with private baths but the prices really varied by room. Our friends got a great price for their room but ours was much higher. In my mind the rooms were very similar. We asked why the difference but was told that it was just how they were priced. If I stayed there again I would ask for the cheeper rooms. Breakfast was OK and was served in the restaurant, which didn't open until 10 AM which was late for us cyclists. No early coffee. Staff was very friendly and carried our bikes to the cellar to store for the night. Oh - their washer was broken so no clean towels for showers. Finally, some arrived at our room. This was an older place that needs some TLC.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed because the Inn was on my way to Fairfax and I could find it easily. The other reviews I read are correct...the staff is very nice, but, they really need direction. I noticed they were hiring in all areas so maybe they were short staffed. The bed was clean. The room was old, I left early. After 10:00 p.m. no one is around and that was a bit spooky.
They did offer breakfast, but not until 10:00 a.m. when the restaurant downstairs opened. I left long before that.
Did eat in the restaurant for dinner and the food was good, but, not really worth the price. Would not suggest this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here. It is not quaint. It is not charming. It is not romantic. It is old, it is poorly run. It stinks. It is loud! It is not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Worst place ever, read the other terrible reviews and you will have the perfect picture. Only worse, it wasn't clean as some reviews suggested. My sheets were definitely dirty with hair and blood stains. Absolutely appalling. I found what appeared to be clean sheets folded in a dark alcove in the hallway and changed them myself. The matters cover had cigarette burn holes and had never been washed. No other hotels in the area with rooms or I would have left! Do not stay here, your car would be a better option!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The staff was friendly and willing to please. The establishment is rather shabby, needs new signs, painting and decorating. The antiques did add to character of the place.Stayed one night and paid too much considering there was no breakfast, the door to dining room locked and no one around to explain. Feel we are owed the $28 we paid for breakfast down the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed there for one night. Room was super small, cramped, but everything worked fine. The owner and staff were very friendly. The breakfast was average, but there on time and the coffee flowed freely (I went down the street for a better cup later, but the staff was trying)

It is an old fashioned, small inn and if you want a place tat has 'character' for better or worse, then this is your place. For a standard hotel try a days inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leesburg Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leesburg Colonial Inn

Address: 19 South King Street, Leesburg, VA 20175
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Leesburg Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leesburg Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.