We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountain Cafe

Blue Mountain Cafe
26 South King St, Leesburg, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 159 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Jamaican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We ate at Blue Mountain Cafe a couple of weekends ago. The restaurant itself reminds you of being in the Caribbean. It's small & cozy and they have a nice patio area (though it was too cold to sit outside.) The service was great. The food was delicious. We will be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic, charming, friendly, and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My friends took me to this fairly new cafe/restaurant in downtown Leesburg, VA for my birthday, and it was great! The chef and his wife own and run the place, and serve truly authentic Jamaican food, which was wonderful! They accommodated our group of 11 people, and bent over backwards to please us! The food was excellent and well prepared. I would have liked to see a few more vegetarian choices, but choosing from the sides was fine. Portions are quite generous. I would highly recommend this little place, it's well worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Great Jamaican eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Limited menu with solid Jamaican staples. The jerk spicing was warm/hot while the curry was tasty with no spice. This is good for those not wanting the heat but wanting flavor. The jerk chicken spring rolls were delicious. We could have made a meal out of those...they were amazing! Sides are: veggies, plantains, rice & beans or white rice. All of it was good. TRY THE RUM CAKE!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great locations, Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had dinner here and food was really good. The jerk is the not the grilled jerk that I was expecting, it was more of a stewed jerk, but absolutely delicious and falling off the bone. my sides were the sweet plantain, and rice and peas. Very good indeed. This restaurant is in historic Leesburg and well situated. Inside is very cute and homey. Very very good food indeed and a must have. Service was very very good indeed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Jamaican food created and served by the nicest people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I'll start by saying that I love this place. It's small, sure. The ambiance is that of a diner almost. But I don't do for a fine dining experience. What I go to Blue Mountain to experience is an hour of Jamaica time, great, great authentic Jamaican food and the service.

It's ok that the only Jamaican beer they serve is Red Stripe. Why you really want to visit is to experience the food. Everything from the oxtail to the jerk chicken to the curry goat to the ackee (fish) is marvelous.

Herman, the owner, and his wife Alyshia are perfect hosts and two of the friendliest people I've met. They will help you make your selection if you're unsure. They'll chat about anything if they have time and you're up for it. Just great people.

The patio out back is shared with Windy City Red Hots but is still a nice place to relax. But, in the heart on downtown Leesburg, it's a great place to let your hair down, enjoy something different, imagine yourself on an island and relax a while with friends old and new.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountain Cafe also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Blue Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mountain Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.